Just pulled wii out of storage

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dyno69, Mar 26, 2012.

Mar 26, 2012

Just pulled wii out of storage by Dyno69 at 6:20 PM (1,173 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Dyno69
    OP

    Newcomer Dyno69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    So i have a soft modded wii from about 2 years ago, i just pulled it outta storage to hook up at my girlfriends house im wondering what i should do to ensure all the newest soft mods and cIOS's are installed to play any games she wants.
     
  2. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    ModMii. It's in the stickies. Thats all you need. Download it, run it on your pc, use the wizard, follow the prompts, and the rest is self explanatory.

    Or just go to http://modmii.zzl.org
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Dyno69
    OP

    Newcomer Dyno69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the info, ill download it when i get home from work, do i need to delete all the old crap on my wii already or will it just overwrite and add the new stuff ill need?
     
  4. TiMeBoMb4u2

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    Run sysCheck on your old Wii, then use the "SU" option, from the ModMii Main Menu. See my sig for both sysCheck and ModMii.
     
  5. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    ModMii will overwrite any other softmods you may have, so no need to go removing anything (in fact removing or uninstalling anything is highly discouraged)
     
    2 people like this.
  6. Dyno69
    OP

    Newcomer Dyno69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Awesome, Thanks all seems like this should be an easy process.
     
  7. Dyno69
    OP

    Newcomer Dyno69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    1 Quick question Xflak and thank you for the great program, once the files are downloaded the 2nd screen for the program closes but the installer file and the main i agree screen seems to stay up no matter how long i let it sit for is this normal
     
  8. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Does not sound normal, but I'm not sure what you mean exactly, can you post a screenshot?
     
  9. Dyno69
    OP

    Newcomer Dyno69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    I deleted everything then re ran the file and it seemed to go aok, when i click on the sd card button at the bottom left corner of the wii system menu the screen that should load seems to freeze anyway to fix that?
     
  10. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    What's your System Menu version?
     
  11. Dyno69
    OP

    Newcomer Dyno69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    My system menu is 4.1 it had the recommended thing next to it lol
     
  12. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Dude go to the Wii icon in the left corner->Save Data->Wii->SD card.

    Then the exploit will load.
     
  13. Dyno69
    OP

    Newcomer Dyno69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    is there a read up on that exploit i dont wanna keep asking questions, when i do what you say Anon it loads the hackmii installer again im sure its because i have the files still on my SD card i figured if theres a read up on that exploit i can figure it out.
     
  14. TiMeBoMb4u2

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    Do you already have the latest Homebrew Channel installed? If not, run the new installer.
    If you do, you should now be ready to follow the next steps in the custom-generated ModMii tutorial (assuming that you're using ModMii).
     
  15. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    ModMii should have created a step by step guide for you to use.

    You say "again", as if it has already loaded before. Given that, if you already have the Homebrew Channel on your system menu and have installed BootMii @IOS (and BootMii@boot2 if possible), you've finished that step and don't need to keep running the HackMii installer. Continue on to the next step, which should instead involve the Homebrew Channel.
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. Dyno69
    OP

    Newcomer Dyno69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea ive installed everything using modmii, i though the SD card menu in the 4.1 System menu was to play games off of the SD card instead of installing them on the wii system but it just freezes ill just leave it alone lol
     
  17. TiMeBoMb4u2

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    If I remember right, there were some SD Card compatibility issues with the SD Card menu (which IMHO is junk). Plus, if you're the type of person that runs out of space on the Wii's internal memory, you may want to look into neek2o. But... Before starting the "fancy" stuff, I say we get your system up-to-date first.

    So... Did you make it through the whole ModMii tutorial?
     
  18. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    As mentioned in your ModMii guide, leaving bannerbomb on your sd card will interfere with using the sd card menu normally. Just remove bannerbomb from your SD card and it should start working for you again. You can use ModMii's file cleanup feature or just delete it manually, it should be saved here: "private/wii/title/aktn"
     
  19. Dyno69
    OP

    Newcomer Dyno69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep i made it all the way trhough the modmii tutorial, the only reason im on 4.1 is cause that was the the recommended version.

    EDIT thanks flak, i tried to use the cleanup feature but i was scared i was gonna erase my whole SD card ill manually remove it.

    Amazing program btw
     

Share This Page