Just got my Acekard 2i and it looks legit...

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Kadin, Aug 23, 2011.

Aug 23, 2011
  1. Kadin
    OP

    Member Kadin Ain't no rest for the wicked...

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    I took off the back hologram sticker and the numbers underneath are very hard to read... VERY hard. In taking off the sticker, I appear to have scratched it a bit making a few of the numbers hard to read.

    I did just manage to get AKAIO 1.8.8 installed on it and it's playing my DS games perfectly fine with their saves and everything. Anything else I can do to confirm it's not a fake or just not worry about it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. xXxM1NG0xXx

    Newcomer xXxM1NG0xXx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Pallet Town
    Country:
    United States
  3. Kadin
    OP

    Member Kadin Ain't no rest for the wicked...

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    Ok well I've confirmed from various sources including acekard's forums themselves that I got a good and legit version. Now I'm a little stumped on something else.

    So when the card came to me, it didn't include a microSD card since I already had one from my r4. I backed up that card and formatted it. I downloaded the latest AKAIO found here http://gbatemp.net/t305986-akaio-1-8-8 and copied it over. I then copied over my games to a 'Games' folder in the root of the card and everything is working fine.

    Did I have to do some kind of firmware update as well? I didn't need to use my DSLite for anything and was expecting that I would. Am I done?
     
  4. Yeloazndevil

    Member Yeloazndevil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    if it works it works, it was probably preflashed to the latest firmware
     
  5. Kadin
    OP

    Member Kadin Ain't no rest for the wicked...

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    Ah ok, that makes sense. Shows how much of a n00b I am, I thought all the OS and firmware stuff was done via the SD card memory, had no clue that the card itself was being updated. I really need to read some more. Appreciate the quick response. [​IMG]
     
  6. fiberoptic

    Newcomer fiberoptic Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
    hello, I'm new here, can someone teach me how to update to fw 1.8.8? thanks!
     
  7. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Follow the link above and download it.
     

Share This Page