Japanese game error on DIOS MIOS

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Taser9090, Jul 29, 2012.

Jul 29, 2012
  1. Taser9090
    OP

    Newcomer Taser9090 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I recently downloaded a Japanese game I lost, which is Kururin Squash. When I had the retail disc, it worked fine loading it with Gecko OS.
    I try loading it with the latest Configurable USB Loader and DIOS MIOS 2.2 (DIOS MIOS, not DIOS MIOS Lite). The game can run fine, but the text is garbled up like Ýèt¨ß § »#
     


  2. TyBlood13

    Member TyBlood13 Weeaboo Trash

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,464
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    for the PAL game you have to set the loader to force NTSC, and for the JAP game, i have no idea. but I have the same problem with Nintendo Puzzle collection. I think it is the fact that the system can't understand Japanese or something, because I loaded the game in Dolphin and it was in PERFECT Japanese.
     
  3. Taser9090
    OP

    Newcomer Taser9090 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I'll try that. My hard drive had to be formatted because I used the Devolution option experimenting.

    Though I think I've already tried that.
     
  4. Taser9090
    OP

    Newcomer Taser9090 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it's possible for a NTSC Wii to play PAL backup GCN games. :\

    Also, I think there needs to be a file for Asian games in order for it to display text properly. I'm just not sure where to get it.
     
  5. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey, if you want proper NTSC-J in DIOS-MIOS, use DIOS-MIOS Booter and its NTSC-J patch ;)
     
  6. Taser9090
    OP

    Newcomer Taser9090 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    The games are not appearing on my USB, and I'm not sure what the path would look like.
    I have the games in usb:\games\[GAMEID].iso.
     
  7. Zidapi

    Member Zidapi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,564
    Country:
    Australia
    I think the path should be usb:\games\[GAMEID]\game.iso
     
  8. Taser9090
    OP

    Newcomer Taser9090 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Oh whoops, that's what I meant.

    I know that path works for Configurable USB Loader, but I'm not so sure if it works with DM Booter.
     
  9. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Sure it does with DIOS-MIOS Booter ;)
     
  10. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    You just found a widely known age-old issue, several Japan Gamecube games have glitches forced to play under incorrect language mode. Modchips and Freeloader took that approach also.

    See... Nintendo originally contained both settings on the NTSC Gamecube board. Then used jumpers to determine English vs Japanese. (think Sega Genesis)
    If you have either a US or JPN Gamecube, the other waits inside it!

    A few non-Japan games are affected as well. US Starfox Adventures can switch into Japanese its region code blocks out.


    That is correct. Strangely as it sounds, Dolphin only allows switching one direction. You can make Dolphin play US/PAL games under JAP console mode. But not the other way. Like its language setting's description says.
    I don't have any idea why.
     
  11. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    For japanese games, the processor clock gets changed, please dont ask me why, it is just a fact. I found that out by checking the wii hardware registers, compared pal, ntsc and ntsc-j and for japanese it was different for some reason. Some games work with the NTSC-U/PAL clock, and yea some need that patch of the clock (its more a hack I created to directly set the speed to a different one), megazig checked it out and found that it normally is done by the wii BC and boot2, who knows what nintendo did there for strange things :P
     
  12. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I was talking about Gamecube though...
     
  13. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    If you play gamecube via wii it enters the regular gamecube mode, the processor got that inside so its pretty much the same :P
     
  14. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Well I don't know about that. Whether japanese mode on an actual gamecube changed what you're saying, or not.
    But this topic is about language issues anyway. So neither of us are quite on track.
     
  15. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    As said, enable the patch and tada language is correct ;)
     
  16. Taser9090
    OP

    Newcomer Taser9090 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Hm, that's interesting.

    I'm still not sure what the directory is to load games in DM Booter.
     
  17. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Its usb:/games/gamefolder/game.iso, where gamefolder can have every name you want ;)
     
  18. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,436
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    on USB Loader GX I forced your fix for all japanese GC games.
    My tester said that games which don't need it worked fine with it too, so I always patch J games. It makes less settings to select/forget by the user.
    If it created problems for games which don't need it, I'll make it an option.

    @[member='Taser9090']:
    be sure to keep the filename "game.iso", do not rename it to something else and all loaders will see it.
     
  19. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah there are japanese games with useful effects in english mode also.

    Try out starfox adventures japan, I believe it can boot to english text.
     
  20. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    For ALL? Well, it also patches the memory card mode to japanese, you can easly fuck up the memory card if you dont know what you are doing, I would make it an option which is disabled by default to make sure that cant happen. Oh and cyan, how about adding some kind of "thanks to FIX94" for the line you now have in GX? ;)
     

Share This Page