Is your DS's internal clock accurate?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Rayder, Feb 23, 2010.

?

DS clock accuracy?

  1. Seems pretty accurate. Within a minute per year.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. The time is always way off after a short time, even when I try to set it correctly.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. I never bothered to check.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. The DS has an internal clock?

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Feb 23, 2010
  1. Rayder
    OP

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Digital clock accuracy is pretty flaky in standard wall clocks. Some are accurate, others are not. Even multiples of the same clock can run fast or slow. So I'm curious....

    How well does your DS keep time?
     


  2. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    mine is the same time as my cell phone & the time on my tv so its pretty accurate
     
  3. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,623
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, still accurate.
     
  4. Gore

    Member Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Country:
    United States
    it's a minute or less slower than my PC, havent been on wifi in over a year I believe, so seems pretty good to me
     
  5. Rayder
    OP

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Mine stays pretty accurate too. I was playing Heart on Clubhouse Games and noticed my time was an hour off....apparently I never set it for daylight savings. I compared it to the clock we have that updates its time automatically and it was only 1 minute slow. Seeing as how it's been over a year since I worried about the DS clock, I'd say it's pretty accurate.

    I was just curious if anyone has one where the DS's clock always loses or gains time.
     
  6. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have 2 DS's, on the older one the time was set on that approx 18 months ago and it is still at the same time as my PC.

    The same for the newer one, that is still accurate with the PC which was set approx 4 months ago.
     
  7. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Wait the DS Clock updates itself when you go on Wifi?
     
  8. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I would like to know this too...
     
  9. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Mine is still pretty accurate. Only thing I needed to adjust for was DST.
     
  10. Dark Blade

    Member Dark Blade Flippin' Insane

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Inside a Pokeball.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine is 0.00045 milliseconds slow. Though I don't really care.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Never had any problems with the DS's internal clock, seems like it doesn't lose or gain time [​IMG]

    I did however have major problems with Pokémon Emerald though, after 2 years the clock was more than 7 hours behind...
     
  12. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I used to check and fix my ds's clock every three months as it would lose three to five days during that time and the clock itself would never be right.
    I stopped doing that a year ago cause it really doesn't matter as I quite literally have 27 clocks in my very small apartment of which I only use 3 (the bathroom, bedroom and kitchen) when I realized this I disabled the ones I didn't need or use and got rid of them
     
  13. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The time is accurate (I think, didn't check accurately) if I play games and switch it off.

    BUT if I set an alarm clock and let the DS switched on/powered for hours, it will became very late/slow.
    I don't know why though [​IMG]
    In my opinion, it's the same quartz which time the seconds, being on or off, it shouldn't affect it. ... or maybe there's no quartz, only electronic based.
     
  14. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    Mines accurate. Tis a DSi though, so it's newer.
     
  15. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    My DS Lite loses about 4 minutes a month.

    its very frustrating
     
  16. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I know, no.

    My DSes keep time very well.
     
  17. kicknhorse

    Member kicknhorse GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    North Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine is about 58 minutes too fast, I assume this may be from when the clock's changed back near the beginning of winter? I assume they would not update automatically?

    So other than that it is pretty close.

    However, not even atomic clocks can keep the correct time - which just proves that time itself is a complete abstract concept.
     
  18. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, DS clocks are totally manual, they don't update themselves.
     
  19. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Hence you can use unpatched Pokemon distribution carts by setting the clock back
     
  20. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    Yes it is because my DS LIte is NEW
     

Share This Page