Is this an Acekard 2i issue or ROM issue?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by MrHuk, Jan 14, 2011.

1. MrHuk
    OP

MrHuk Member

Newcomer
    Jan 14, 2011
    Hi all,

I'm a bit new to all this and I have a question.

Some games are either freezing completely (Telly Addicts, CSI: Unsolved) or playing in slow motion (Top Spin 2, 3 & plenty of others), is this a problem with the Acekard 2i or the ROMs? And is this just an unavoidable problem or is something wrong on my end?

Any help would be great.

PS: I'm using a DSi XL.

2. MrHuk
    OP

MrHuk Member

Newcomer
    Jan 14, 2011
  3. lolzed

lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

Sep 13, 2008
    There
    Try reformatting your card with Panasonic formatter(remeber to backup) and get the latest AKAIO(1.8.5) before thinking of buying a new SD card

4. MrHuk
    OP

MrHuk Member

Newcomer
    Jan 14, 2011
    I've already done both, with no joy.

5. CannonFoddr

CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

Sep 23, 2006
    Sitting by computer
    Hard to tell - I also had problems like what you say but it varied

For example.....
    I had 'stutter' (slow-downs??) problems with 'Animal Crossing:Wild World (E)' but none with 'Animal Crossing:Wild World (U)' - so that points towards the ROM being the problem

BUT

I also had 'white screens' when starting 'Brain Age' ( both (E) and (U) ) - but not every time, which points towards the AK2i or the firmware support & not the ROM.

YET

This was 'cured' (for a while) by backing up & reformatting the SD card using the 'Panasonic SD formatter' - THAT points towards the memory card being the problem

Brought a new bigger/faster memory card & never had any problem since (while I still owned a AK2i - now moved to a DSTwo) - so it could be any of these things

EDIT: Read the replies after posting this - seems like you already tried the 'Formatting SD card'.
    It still could be the MSD - what make/size/speed is it ??
    Have you another MSD to try out ??

6. MrHuk
    OP

MrHuk Member

Newcomer