is this a clone?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Totoy_Kamote, Nov 3, 2010.

Nov 3, 2010

is this a clone? by Totoy_Kamote at 3:11 PM (3,781 Views / 0 Likes) 48 replies

  1. Totoy_Kamote
    OP

    Member Totoy_Kamote GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Down Under Hate,KillandDESTROY
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yeah i know that there's a lot of topic about "How to know if it's fake"
    and there's a sticky about r4 but still i want to make sure if it's a clone or not...

    Here it is
     


  2. Recorderdude

    Member Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, and a bad one at that.

    Not only is it a clone, but its own website has malfunctioning firmware.

    It is also supposedly not a clone of the R4 at all but a clone of the DSTTi.

    (cannot post source of info becos it has ROMs, but its some r4 forum)

    There's really only one R4 besides the real original one I know of that might be worth getting, and that's the R4 SDHC, becuse, well, it supports SDHC. Get wood R4 working on that and you're good to go.
     
  3. Totoy_Kamote
    OP

    Member Totoy_Kamote GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Down Under Hate,KillandDESTROY
    Country:
    Philippines
    hmmn... ok tnx! so you're suggesting that i should make it a wood? or buy a R4 SDHC and make it a wood?

    sorry didnt fully understand... my english is bad! [​IMG]
     
  4. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    R4SDHC cards cannot run Wood R4 and therefore not worth buying.
     
  5. Totoy_Kamote
    OP

    Member Totoy_Kamote GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Down Under Hate,KillandDESTROY
    Country:
    Philippines
    ah ok!

    i should make my clone r4 a wood then? [​IMG]
     
  6. Recorderdude

    Member Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    Like I said, the one you showed here was supposedly a DSTTi clone with an R4 brand, so...WAIO?

    EDIT: No, not WAIO for DSTT...unless you can confirm it is an R4, then it seems like you might be stuck with a Woodless cart.
     
  7. iluvfupaburgers

    Member iluvfupaburgers FUPA Luva

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    Country:
    Ecuador
    no, they are saying that wood r4 only works on the r4 original (the one that doesnt support sdhc cards) while r4 sdhc is good too because it supports waio. your clone is a bad clone because it wont support any of these, and it is probably not updated anymore, or as often. your best choice is to try ysmenu
     
  8. Totoy_Kamote
    OP

    Member Totoy_Kamote GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Down Under Hate,KillandDESTROY
    Country:
    Philippines
    ok i get it... i'll buy a new one!
     
  9. iluvfupaburgers

    Member iluvfupaburgers FUPA Luva

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    Country:
    Ecuador
    i suggest either acekard 2i or supercard dstwo
     
  10. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    every single R4 being sold right now is a clone, even the one at shoptemp
    the acekard 2i is a good choice if you're looking for a new cart
     
  11. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    True, but the one at Shoptemp is correctly called a clone - that is to say it's an identical copy of the genuine R4. The other so-called 'clone' R4's are simply cheap counterfeits of various flashcarts.
     
  12. Totoy_Kamote
    OP

    Member Totoy_Kamote GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Down Under Hate,KillandDESTROY
    Country:
    Philippines
    so you're saying that's there's no original R4 anymore?
     
  13. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    that's exactly what I'm saying..the one at shoptemp is a 1:1 clone
    if you're extremly lucky you might be able to find a used "original" one at a flea market or craigslist

    but the ones at shoptemp is a good alternative..it works with wood
     
  14. Totoy_Kamote
    OP

    Member Totoy_Kamote GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Down Under Hate,KillandDESTROY
    Country:
    Philippines
    hmmn.. so it's acekard 2i for me then..

    is there a clone of this? im afraid that i might buy another clone... [​IMG]
     
  15. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    there are acekard clones, but you should be safe if you buy it at shoptemp

    I think RHS was selling acekard clones a while back..but anyone who got an acekard clone got a refund or replacement right away
     
  16. Totoy_Kamote
    OP

    Member Totoy_Kamote GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Down Under Hate,KillandDESTROY
    Country:
    Philippines
    hmmn.. ok! tnx! [​IMG]

    i heard r4 clones supports more than 2gigabytes? is that true?

    if that's true then i might use this r4 for a little while..
     
  17. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States

    If you're talking about your R4i, that you showed, than yes it does support sdhc memory card
     
  18. iluvfupaburgers

    Member iluvfupaburgers FUPA Luva

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    Country:
    Ecuador
    if you mean the original r4, it wont support sdhc. if you mean your clone, it should support sdhc cards
     
  19. Totoy_Kamote
    OP

    Member Totoy_Kamote GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Down Under Hate,KillandDESTROY
    Country:
    Philippines
    i might use this for a while.. and ill buy a higher memory card coz it's only 2g... i already had it for a month and i havent got any problem... i just wanted to make it a wood... but it's still ok even if it's not...
     
  20. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    if it's working and you're happy with it, than I don't see any reason to buy a new cart, but like all R4 clones..you're gonna start getting frustrated when more and more games stops working on it
     

Share This Page