Is Service Pack 3 for XP out officially or is it

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by WeaponXxX, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. WeaponXxX
    OP

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    Well I recently put Vista on all my machines but my UX280 ... I feel ran better with XP so I am preparing a jump drive copy of XP...I was gonna slipstream Service Pack 3 but I noticed it said that SP3 was for testing? IS SP3 officially out? Anyone use it? Thoughts? Thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  2. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Nope its not officially out yet, that other one is a release candidate. I miss XP. Vista is a resource hog and I heard that SP1 was not going to make it run any smoother. I think I'm going back after SP3 gets released.
     
  3. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm I must be behind the times, i didn't know there was such a thing as SP3. However I guess it'd be good to create one since SP2 doesn't have native timezone fixes. I have the very latest SP2 CD here, nothing too special about it.

    Vista is better than XP btw.
     
  4. WeaponXxX
    OP

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    Vista kicks ass on my Quad and Dual Core PCs...however my UX280 is only a single core so it doesn't perform very well. I was hoping that readyboost would help (Using Vista) but it doesn't ... so yay time to format [​IMG]

    @amptor
    google windowsxp-kb936929-sp3-x86-enu-.exe
     
  5. Javacat

    Member Javacat GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've heard a few people raving about how good SP3 is and that it improves XP's performance by quite a bit. It includes pretty much all the updates that pre-dates it. If I was formatting my PC I'd probably put it on now.
     
  6. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    SP1 makes Vista run noticeably snappier, but it still isn't up to par with XP yet.
     

Share This Page