Is neogamma regionfree ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kazekun, Mar 13, 2011.

Mar 13, 2011

Is neogamma regionfree ? by kazekun at 4:12 PM (3,260 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. kazekun
    OP

    Member kazekun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Portugal
    I have my wii for some 2 years or 1 year and half now, but theres 1 thing that has been upseting me for a long time, that is the fact i cant import games from japan or US, my wii is european and its alredy on version 4.3E, so priiloader is out of question, my question is, does homebrews such as neogamma allow region free on the console ? There are games mostly from japan i really really want to try, if not, what kinda homebrew can i get for it ?
     
  2. troy512

    Newcomer troy512 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    priiloader is not out of the question

    neogamma is region free, set the video mode
     
  3. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Erm...priiloader works fine on 4.3E.

    But even without that setting: yes. USB loaders don't care about region; at worst, you'll have to force games to use the video mode you have (that'll be PAL for Portugal).
     
  4. kazekun
    OP

    Member kazekun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Portugal
    I planned to boot the games trough the Dvds itself, does that make a diference ? ( dont have the hardware for the usb stuff, also i didnt mean priiloader, i meant freeloader my bad [​IMG] )
     
  5. kazekun
    OP

    Member kazekun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Portugal
    i am still in doubt [​IMG] is neogamma region free for dvds ? ( not usb loaders) thx in advance
     
  6. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes.. But you need priiloader to block disc updates.

    You'll be bricked when you update cross-region.
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    When using NeoGamma, you don't have to worry about priiloader(for 99% of games). And when using actual retail discs, you don't even need a cIOS, while having a good one doesn't harm. I recommend cIOS56rev21 or that new one from those 3 guys.

    Do you use a RGB cable? If yes, you get into trouble regarding video modes. If not, and your tv supports NTSC video, then you shouldn't get any problems because of this. Worst case is that you have to use the crap cables instead of component or RGB cables.

    About region free:
    Games work best in their native video mode, just keeping NeoGamma at video mode disc will get 90% of import games to work. Then some japanese games require you to set the language in NeoGamma to japanese(or setting your sytem menu language to japanese...). And then there are games that require Country String patching. Import game compatiblity might not be 100%, i heard of some games released in 2010 that require a different kind of Country String patching, but the chance you get one of those games is slim. If you get one of those games, you should ask somebody who knows more about this stuff, i'm sure there's a way to play these games by tweaking some priiloader settings.

    About IOS/cIOS:
    Some games require that the used IOS is build of a certain base IOS. Best examples are the Rock Band games that require an IOS/cIOS that is build of IOS37 or IOS56. Or games that use the usb 2.0 camera require IOS58. NeoGamma will always use IOS249 whatever you have installed there. If you don't have IOS249, then it will use IOS36. If you get problems with a game and suspect the IOS to be the problem, try Gecko OS 1.9.x, it always uses the correct IOS.


    Wrong. All games work in their native video mode, if the game is NTSC, the chance is 100% it works in NTSC.
     
  8. kazekun
    OP

    Member kazekun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Portugal
    thanks for all the info, it did help me alot, i do think my tv supports both Ntsc and pal, at least it did with my ps2, about the cios, i dont think i gona need such things, i will only get retail games, so no homebrew to run copys is needed, i just want to break the region limit of the wii and be able to import from Usa and Japan, lets put it this way, i have every single pal game of wii worth playing, now i want something new, that doesnt exist in europe, i want the "jewels" froms japan.
     

Share This Page