Is my PSP bricked?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by willdunz, Aug 28, 2012.

Aug 28, 2012

Is my PSP bricked? by willdunz at 10:14 PM (974 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

1. willdunz
    OP

Newcomer willdunz Advanced Member

United States
    Hi:
    I have a PSP3003 OFW 6.60 and I tried to mod it to PRO-B10 today. The modding itself was successful. Then I tried to change OX buttons with registry hacks in the recovery menu. It worked at first but after a while the O and X buttons are not responding! Other buttons are fine though. I tried to reboot but the problem persists. So now I am basically stuck in VSH with no access to the recovery menu since I rebooted. I supposed this means my PSP is bricked? Is there anything I can do to fix it? Thanks in advance.

2. Another World

Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

Colombia
    so you are running the temporary hack? pardon my ignorance on the subject, as i am new to psp hacking, but can't you just remove the files and reboot back to the OFW? after that just run the install program again and overwrite everything?

although, i haven't played around with the registry so i am unsure if that will fix it or if that would cause more issues.

perhaps our guide author, @[member='Rydian'], can help! =)

-another world

3. xist

Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

United Kingdom
    A brick would mean that your PSP would be unable to load it's firmware, resulting in a black screen. Obviously that's not what's happened, which is good because on a 3000 it's unrecoverable.

Since you're using a temporary hack a full power off should remove any changes you've made. If it doesn't either the Registry Hacks work in a weird way, or it's a hardware issue.

4. willdunz
    OP

United States
    But I can't even access my memory stick when OX buttons doesn't work.
    I saw somewhere else that pressing square+triangle+start+select when booting will reset flash1. I tried that on mine but still no luck. :(