Is my PC good?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by cupajoe, Feb 12, 2008.

Feb 12, 2008

Is my PC good? by cupajoe at 8:23 PM (1,842 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. cupajoe
    OP

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    I have a PC coming in a few hours and I want to know if it's good enough to play graphic intensive games.

    Specs:
    500 GB hard drive
    Quad Processor
    3 GB ram
    GeForce 8800 Graphics Card
     
  2. Rhuarc

    Newcomer Rhuarc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Which 8800 is it?

    SHoudl be pretty good, won't run Crysis at max, but then again, nothing will! LoL
     
  3. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Pretty much useless information unless you give the Model number of the Geforce 8800 (is it GTX, GTS, Ultra)? Also quadcore is a useless description without the CPU's model. Your Motherboard model is also something that will affect your gaming experience.
     
  4. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I too bought a PC kinda like yours, and I'm running Crysis at High, not at extra high.
    So basically it can run every game on the market now [​IMG]
     
  5. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    I have a car that has:
    headlights
    4 wheels
    3 air fresheners
    It's made by honda

    can I professionally race it?
     
  6. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    That's really not fair

    Quad core means a Xeon, Penryn, or Phenom all being good for games, and an 8800 is a GTS or better. It can play almost every game on High.
     
  7. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Uhh, quadcore were invented in the 80s.
     
  8. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    And giving the size of your HDD means nothing, lol. It has no bearing on the way a game runs, besides having enough room for an install. Getting a Kentsfield 2.6GHz Quad Core, 4GB of RAM, and dual SLI GeForce 8800 GTX's should be enough to play Tetris.
     
  9. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil

    Forgetting about the 8800GT, and the Newly Announced GS are we?
     
  10. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    The first GTS is the weakest, and nobody is selling GS cards in PCs (he didn't build it, obviously)
     
  11. mojoex

    Member mojoex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lmfao

    but yeah we do need more information.
    my guesses are its a 8800GT and a Q6600
     
  12. slayerspud

    Member slayerspud GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Best post I have read in a while, Gj.
    Should be fine tbh, even the weakest Quad core + 8800 will run most games at max.
     
  13. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Supposing the old 8800GTS 320 then, it's still not bad.

    With regards to things, it sounds like a decent one at least.
     
  14. Robert235

    Newcomer Robert235 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Brooklyn,NY
    Country:
    United States
    that a good gaming pc , i was able run crysis on my 2gb ram, nvidia 7300 LE
     
  15. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  16. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    Pales in comparison to my Mac Pro [​IMG]

    I'm just being a stinker [​IMG]
     
  17. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I still think the guy gave good anough details to be able to say it can run Crysis on High at least. You probably won't have any troubles with games at all. Now can I ask why you're spending so much on a PC when you clearly don't know much about them?
     

Share This Page