Is it possible to restore to Official Firmware

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by sekhu, Aug 17, 2008.

Aug 17, 2008
  1. sekhu
    OP

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it possible to restore a PSP with custom firmware (4.01 m33) back to one with official firmware, send it for repair, and then reflash it to the custom firmware once more?

    How do I do this, and how difficult is it? Will they be able to figure out that I've been playing backups? I'll take the memory stick out before I send it for repair. It will be an out of warranty repair.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, I was wrong. Almost had it, but was wrong.

    Taken from ediblebird's topic

     
  3. sekhu
    OP

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that simple? Excellent, thanks
     
  4. sekhu
    OP

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've run into a little bit of a problem, potentially I have bricked the PSP. I used the pandora battery and selected the circle button option to restore the official firmware. It worked, however upon restarting the PSP with a normal battery the screen was a washed out gray/white with the text barely visible. I then went to check Sytem Settings, and now it's stuck on a blank screen and I can't get out of it. Has it been bricked?
     
  5. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried putting the Pandora Batery and Magic Memory Stick back in? This is usually a good indication of whether or not something is completely bricked.
     
  6. sekhu
    OP

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried putting the pandora battery/memory stick back in. It gives me the options to install the 3.71 firmware, nand dump etc, however, I am unable to make a selection as the buttons don't respond. I removed the pandora stick and battery, and replaced it with a normal battery and the screen was still white. However, I changed the theme settings and I can see everything now, so I think the downgrade has happened successfully. I'm not sure why the pandora options weren't responding. Any idea why that might be?
     
  7. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Find the flash1 formatter, if you can still run homebrew. This will wipe all settings, probably fixing any settings corruption.
     

Share This Page