Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OctoHere

    OP OctoHere Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    It's already shown by Grezzo that ports are possible, (see Luigi's Mansion 3DS) but what about direct emulation? It'd likely run badly without REALLY good optimization, but I don't think it's completely impossible. But I'm not an expert on the technology and processing and that sort of thing. It may have to be exclusive to the New 3DS if such an emulator existed.
    Even if GameCube emulation IS impossible, we at least know that ports are not. I mainly just want to play Super Mario Sunshine on my 3DS. Maybe some unofficial ports will pop around. Who knows.
    Apologies in post if it's totally absolutely impossible and I just made myself look like an absolute clown lol.
     
    Stealphie likes this.
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,056
    Country:
    United States
    LOL hell the fuck no
     
    Briglia00, Y0shII, Hoppy and 8 others like this.
  3. BeniBel

    BeniBel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Belgium
    Short answer: no way in hell.
     
  4. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,056
    Country:
    United States
    Luigi's Mansion on 3ds is a remake not a port
     
    Sophie-bear likes this.
  5. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,427
    Country:
    Germany
    The new 3DS series may be comparable in terms of compute power to GameCube. But an emulating machine must be way more powerful than what it wants to emulate. To give you an idea of this: The old 3DS series struggles at emulating SNES games which had enhancement chips (Super FX, SA1).

    Building a game for another console with access to the original source code is not comparable to emulation. Nintendo won’t do this (3DS is end of life) and nobody else can do this (without an insane amount of reverse engineering… only to receive a “cease and desist”-order five minutes after publication).

    And even if you would somehow magically emulate GC on a 3DS this would look awful because of the low resolution of the 3DS. Could make text unreadable.

    I suggest you read a bit about emulation in general.

    In my opinion asking such questions is okay – as long as you accept the answers and learn about the topic afterwards. Mentioning this because there had been some specialist in the past with similar ideas who did not want to stop…

    =========
    If I remember correctly the Switch is (perhaps with overclocking) able to run Dolphin. I think I’ve seen a video of a Switch running Mario Sunshine at decent speed.
     
  6. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,056
    Country:
    United States
    Yea having the accents doesn't mean emulation
     
  7. YOUCANTSTOPME

    YOUCANTSTOPME GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Canada
    No.

    /thread
     
  8. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,105
    Country:
    Australia
    Petermary?
     
  9. Mikitok

    Mikitok GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    New Zealand
    hahaha nice joke

    what next ps4? XD
     
  10. xbmcuser

    xbmcuser GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    emulating anything on any turing complete machine is possible. Ie you cou could emulate a PS5 on an atari vcs.

    but you would probably get 1 frame / every 365 days. downscaled to 128x 256 resolution with 4 colours

    so you would not want it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2019
    Zense, mehmeh11, Bravalerie and 3 others like this.
  11. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,427
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't understand…

    Given enough virtual memory, yes. But these kinds of questions normally target real time/full speed emulation.
     
  12. xbmcuser

    xbmcuser GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could emulate some memory swapping caching on the 1 K VCS, make it 1 frame every 2 years.

    I am being facetious
     
  13. StarGazerTom

    StarGazerTom GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,935
    Country:
    Yes, but you have to find Dr.Who and get him to hack it for you with his Sonic Screwdriver.
    Good luck!
     
    OctoHere likes this.
  14. ChibiMofo

    ChibiMofo NPC Chibi-Robo for Wii needs a fan translation
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    Canada
    Uh, no. An Atari 2600 doesn't have enough memory to emulate a PS1, let alone anything that came later at any speed nor resolution. Nor did that processor have the ability to address virtual memory. Some things truly are impossible.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2019
    mehmeh11 likes this.
  15. Psionic Roshambo

    Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,104
    Country:
    United States
    They did make Halo for it :P lol (but your point is completely valid.)

    That being said back on topic, the 3DS even the New 3DS while nice handheld machines probably could emulate the GameCube at about 1-2 frames a minute. Seriously wayyyy too slow to manage it AND the only reason I say that it might be possible would be because there is an Android (ARM CPU) port of Dolphin, but that requires a phone or Shield TV that absolutely destroys the 3DS in terms of specs. Now off I go to play some more games on my 3DS :) (I do love the 3DS)
     
  16. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    742
    Country:
    United States
    Under this logic the Wii U can be emulated on the 3DS since Hyrule Warriors was ported to the system.
     
    Stealphie, mehmeh11 and Kwyjor like this.
  17. DarthDub

    DarthDub Amateur Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,720
    Country:
    United States
    Even if you did somehow got it to emulate it, the screen's resolution would be an issue..
     
  18. LiveLatios

    LiveLatios Profesionnal Scalie
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,617
    Country:
    Canada
    i saw the title and i immediately thought of "gacube elmeleter for lima32ds"
     
    Quantumcat and Ryccardo like this.
  19. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,813
    Country:
    Norway
    It barely runs though.
     
  20. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,405
    Country:
    United States
    Hyrule runs fine on New systems, even if it looks like crap. Old systems however...
     
    MikaDubbz likes this.
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Emulation, GameCube, Possible

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.