IOS0 anyone?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by paulstevens, Jan 6, 2009.

Jan 6, 2009

IOS0 anyone? by paulstevens at 8:04 PM (3,245 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. paulstevens
    OP

    Newcomer paulstevens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I googled and searched this site for IOS0 but found little by way of explanation.

    What is IOS0?

    AFAIK, it showed up when I used muzer's install IOS51 program that downloads IOS51, patches it, then installs it on the wii. I used the app from BIG MOEs awesome install package, and after completing the IOS51 install, IOS0 also showed up in TitleLister.

    Any ideas? Should we care?

    Also, there are two "?" channels that show up not in the main wii menu but in the "channel" section in the DataManagement area. These are in addition to the HBC and BigMoes gamma launch channel. I don't know when those "?" channels showed up. I only noticed them just now but would speculate they are a result of the gamma installation activities and/or starfall. I also installed the other gamma launch channel included in BigMoes package, so perhaps one of the "?" channels corresponds to it, but I'm unsure what the other "?" would be for.

    I suppose I could delete the "?" question mark channels in the DataManagement area and see what happens.

    Thank you.
     
  2. fishears

    Member fishears fishears

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i've got two ?? channels too... what the "F" are they?
     
  3. Jytach

    Member Jytach GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Brazil
    The ?? channels are custom channels. There is a known bug on most custom channels that won't let the config menu recognize them.

    About the IOS0, I don't know. I will see if I have it.
     
  4. Jizmo

    Member Jizmo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    Country:
    United States
    they are also hidden titles like DVDX.
     
  5. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Did some digging... as near as has been figured IOS0 has something to do with waninkoko's FS dumper.
     
  6. paulstevens
    OP

    Newcomer paulstevens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    No DVDX on mine. I only did the HBC, CIOS stuff, Starfall, IOS51, and two gamma launch channels, one of which shows up in the datamanagement area (Gamma Autoboot Fix002 H1-BM50 shows up nicely), one of which does not (v0.3_Gamma_auto_Launcher_Channel.wad). So I'm not sure what the other "?" question mark channel is. (I'm assuming one question mark is for the v0.3_Gamma_auto_Launcher_Channel.wad)

    I'll see if AnyTitleDeleter might shed some light on this. (hidden titles perhaps)

    Thanks for the replies.
     
  7. paulstevens
    OP

    Newcomer paulstevens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I saw that but have never used the FS dumper. Perhaps he used similar code in the cIOS36_rev07 installer to set that off?

    I also installed cios_fix.wad even though I did not have to downgrade (box was at 3.1U). I found I could not do the downgrader app w/o first installing cios_fix.wad.

    I presume that subsequently running cIOS36_rev07 installer overwrote the cios_fix.wad into IOS249.

    Something in there may have popped up that "?" question mark and/or IOS0.
     
  8. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    thats likely (the ios0) as they were speculating it had to do with a system call that wan was using in fs dumper.
     
  9. paulstevens
    OP

    Newcomer paulstevens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Before we stray too far off I should restate that I believe IOS0 showed up after I ran Muzers IOS51 installer.

    So perhaps muzer or patchmii uses some code portion that had the same effect as some FS Dumper code portion...
     
  10. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so here is IOS0's cause according to wiibrew

    ISO0 only contains a TITLE.TMD which is the fakesigned super user TMD used by Waninkoko's FS Dumper. It gets installed when the program runs the ES_Identify() command with that TMD. The Title ID itself is essentially fake.

    So anything using this method to gain super user install privileges would result in ios0
     
  11. paulstevens
    OP

    Newcomer paulstevens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    > So anything using this method to gain super user install privileges would result in ios0

    Would patchmii fall in that category? That is the foundation of the IOS51 installer.

    ps I hope I'm not wasting bandwidth here, but this is all very interesting. Thanks.
     
  12. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    It may use it. in fact i wouldn't be surprised if it did since it is patching various IOS's, id imagine youd need higher than normal access to do so.
     
  13. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oh boy, it suddenly did got on my Wii too.

    Even a broken/no banner save. With Zelda TP content in it.. (00010000-525A444A)

    And a 'Downloadable Channel' called 'g'. (00010001-52583345) Title Version 1 ,0.61MB.
    (P.S. what about the 'Downloadable Channel' called: " the City" 00010001-414E4352) Title Version 1 ,0.64MB. )
     
  14. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    I believe the ? channels just show as "?" because the images within them aren't properly compressed. I have a nice animated SNES forwarder that shows up this way in data management because of this.
     

Share This Page