insufficient memory on Ti/84 plus

mr. fancypants

that´s ´Sir´ for you!
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
605
Trophies
0
Location
right here, right now
XP
245
Country
Netherlands
i just got a Ti/84 plus from texas instruments and i want to run games on it. now have i downloaden MirageOS and it works fin but if i dropp the files of the game (pokemonRed btw) it says :insufficient memory (8C08000C)

i also checked my ram (which is 21037 and my ARC which is 9190) so that isnt the problem ( i think)

here is also a picture

does anyone have an idea how to fix this?
 

Attachments

  • error.png
    error.png
    127.3 KB · Views: 1,439

mr. fancypants

that´s ´Sir´ for you!
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
605
Trophies
0
Location
right here, right now
XP
245
Country
Netherlands
oke i did go to the memory (2nd and +) i did go to option 2 (mgmt/del...) and open the section apps (they are pretty big and useless) there is also an * before their names

but how do i delete an app?
 

Arras

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
6,306
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
4,465
Country
Netherlands
Don't use MirageOS, get DoorsCS. It's much much better IIRC (it's been quite some time since I last used my TI). It can even run files from the archive by temporarily copying them to RAM.
 

ßleck

Console Peasant
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
360
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
I don't know. Help.
XP
377
Country
Netherlands
oke i did go to the memory (2nd and +) i did go to option 2 (mgmt/del...) and open the section apps (they are pretty big and useless) there is also an * before their names

but how do i delete an app?

1. Go to the app you want to delete.
2. Press "del".
3. Press yes when asked if you are sure.
4. The app has been deleted.

Just checked on my own TI-84 plus to be sure. If you delete enough you should be able to play your game (I use MirageOS too).
 

grossaffe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
3,011
Trophies
0
XP
2,778
Country
United States
I can't get over the fact that schools still have students wasting their money on those overpriced and outdated calculators.
 

Nathan Drake

Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
6,192
Trophies
0
XP
2,562
Country
I can't get over the fact that schools still have students wasting their money on those overpriced and outdated calculators.
A smart student will realize that TI-34 will work for pretty much every level math up to Pre-Calculus. From pre-calculus forward, or when going into statistics, it is pretty much absolutely necessary to at least have a TI-83 (Plus) though. Plus, they may be expensive, but they will work for absolutely ever, and due to them always being needed, they have a decent resell value if you need some cash and no longer need the calculator. It probably doesn't help that Texas Instruments has a bit of a monopoly on the high level calculator market, primarily because every textbook that requires calculator use has a TI calculator as the base. Many times, comparable calculators from other brands are either missing functions that teachers, textbooks, and general formulas will mostly use, or are unnecessarily convoluted in trying to make the calculator seem unique.

So yeah, expensive? I guess. For most people here, you can pick up a used TI-84 for around $80, which, when considering multi-year usage, isn't really so bad. Hell, a person can pick up a TI-83 Plus for about $45 used, and that has gotten me through higher level math courses fine.

Also, outdated? Do you expect some great leaps in the field of general calculations and established formulas hundreds of years old so that we can have newer and even more expensive calculators? If you happen to try to argue that phones and tablets have graphing calculator apps, well, I hope you have enough common sense to realize that all because something can be a calculator doesn't mean a teacher is going to let you use it as one.
 

ßleck

Console Peasant
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
360
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
I don't know. Help.
XP
377
Country
Netherlands
Well, the PC connection problem was solved via PM. Just continue deleting files until you have enough space for Pokemon. I'm sure the problem you had before wasn't caused because you deleted the easydate app, so don't worry about getting the same problem.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk tempBOT: @ kenenthk Into the thick of it