Installing HBC 1.0.6

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Gargarlord, Dec 14, 2009.

Dec 14, 2009

Installing HBC 1.0.6 by Gargarlord at 2:20 AM (2,512 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Gargarlord
    OP

    Newcomer Gargarlord Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so I updated to 4.2U, but missed the important step of updating the HBC first. Now I cannot install the HBC because I don't have a vulnerable IOS installed on my Wii. Is there any way around this, or am I screwed?
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    search button is your friend
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    use bannerbomb to launch wad manager, install ios 30 (v1040) which u can get using NUS downloader

    then use bannerbomb to launch the hackmii installer again, and this time it will allow u to install [​IMG]
     
  4. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have the latest HackMii installer?

    IOS30 v1040 will not work on newer Wiis.
     
  5. Gargarlord
    OP

    Newcomer Gargarlord Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    How would I go about doing that? The using bannerbomb to launch WAD manager, I mean.
     
  6. Gargarlord
    OP

    Newcomer Gargarlord Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I have been trying to use it, but I get the same error message. I also tried the HackMii installer v0.5.
     
  7. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,484
    Country:
    United States
    Why recommend installing such a old ios thats not even compatible with newer wiis? A clean ios61 newest version will get the job done fine, v1040 is just ancient

    edit:
    To slow thanks Dialexio
     
  8. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    lol, just because an IOS is stubbed, does not mean that it cannot still be used. I've chosen IOS30 BECAUSE it was stubbed. There are benefits to having a patched IOS36, so recommending he install a virgin version of ios36 of it is not good advice. Now INSTALLING IOS30 V1040 WILL SOLVE THE PROBLEM WITHOUT TOUCHING ANY IOS THE WII STILL USES
     
  9. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    But IOS30 does not work with newer Wiis at all, stub or not, thanks to various differences.
     
  10. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
  11. Gargarlord
    OP

    Newcomer Gargarlord Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
  12. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to install an unpatched IOS for HBC.

    Did you install cioscorp? Because HBC should have installed after upgrading to 4.2.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=188378&st=285
    (scroll down to mattjd's post)

    The only other time I've heard you get that message is if you have a korean wii.
     
  13. strangerke

    Newcomer strangerke Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Belgium
    Got just the same problem here , i updated to 4.2E



    [​IMG] hours later =
    Finally got it working [​IMG] [​IMG]
    I installed ;
    IOS15-64-v257.wad
    IOS15-64-v523.wad
    IOS36-64-v3351.wad
    with DOP-ios , maybe there another way to start dop-ios quicker , but i used bannerbomb + loadmii 0.3.
    After that, hackmii started again so that i could install the rest of it !!
     
  14. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, right, after you finish the "Install an IOS that accepts fakesigning" you also need a non patched IOS. Use dop-IOS MOD with your new IOS36 to re-install an non-patched IOS. For example, IOS61 or IOS35 are good choices. Just make sure to say NO to applying the signature hash check and/or ES_Identify. You want a clean IOS.

    You should then be able to install HBC using the HackMii installer via Bannerbomb.
     
  15. Gargarlord
    OP

    Newcomer Gargarlord Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I just uninstalled IOS30, and reinstalled an earlier version. Worked like a charm.
     

Share This Page