Install IOS60BK before preloader 0.29?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bloodlust, Apr 10, 2009.

Apr 10, 2009
  1. Bloodlust
    OP

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Or is it the other way round? Can some kind souls confirm?
     


  2. misticknight

    Member misticknight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    Australia
    after, trust me, i bricked my wii doing it this way.
     
  3. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    NO! you always install IOS60 first. The other way around will cause you a lot of trouble, since the preloader installer patches IOS60.
     
  4. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i did it the way where you install preloader, then ios60, which will give you the 'system files corrupted' thing. then all you have to do is go into homebrew channel by holding reset, and run the preloader installer again. works perfectly here.

    people who say the other way round are putting you at risk of a brick.
     
  5. Bloodlust
    OP

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Just to make myself clear, its IOS60BK (replacement for cioscorp under 4.0) not IOS60... so it's preloader after IOS60BK?
     
  6. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes preloader after IOS60BK
     
  7. Bloodlust
    OP

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Sounds more logical to me since there's a scenario like that.. thanks..
     
  8. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well, my way worked for me and many others. its in the ultimate system menu 4.0 guide.

    and yes, its IOS60BK that im talking about.
     
  9. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    What exactly does the IOS60BK do?
     
  10. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    backup loading from disk channel....

    but you dont really need it installed.

    just set preloader to make the system menu run on IOS249, and its as if you installed IOS60BK (assuming you have cios).

    so you can install all of the cioscorp pack... then just change the system menu ios setting (in preloader) to ios249, and you wouldn't need to install IOS60BK ;D less brick risk.
     
  11. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    But I'm pretty sure if you do this the SD-card menu doesn't work and copying things to NAND takes extremely long, since IOS249 is based on a relatively old IOS (IOS36).
     
  12. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    Ohh ok i did that with preloader but when i tried to play madworld through disc channel i got the 02 error

    What causes that?

    and yes i did install the iso 38 53 58 i believe they were.
     
  13. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    this may be true.

    thinking about it, it is better to install IOS60BK.

    im not sure about the 002 error with madworld... i think the cioscorpv2 in the miiwii pack fixed it?

    EDIT: And BTW, im just sharing what worked for me. the method of preloader, ios60, preloader is what worked for loads of people, im not saying its better than any other method, but i can confirm that it definately works.

    2ND EDIT: And remember to set your system menu ios back to 60 in preloader. rofl.
     
  14. Bloodlust
    OP

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Is this confirmed?
     
  15. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    Not gonna worry about it right now.Seems like theres to many things getting installed now a days and its conflicting with each other and causing to many errors and shit.Its not worth the hassle to me.I got the usb loader working just fine so i will stick to that for now.
    I don't even know all the cios and ios ive installed and i dont wanna screw something up by installing a new one that conflicts with an old one.

    EDIT:
    Also everywhere i have read about this also says preloader then the ios60bk which corrupts the system.then install preloader again.
    I would think if you didnt have preloader before this file then it would end up with a brick and no preloader to fix the brick but thats just what i think.
     
  16. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i dont think ios conflicts with other ios.... as long as an ios runs and works, its good.
     
  17. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Doesnt preloader run off iso60 though? So installing the Bk one would mess with preloader right?
     
  18. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
  19. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    I think your getting files mixed up here.It does say to install IOS60 before preloader but looking further into the guide you will see where it says about installing the CIOS60BF.wad which it tells you right there that it corrupts the sytem menu and to install preloader again.
    I skipped steps not important to this question.


    EDIT: the IOS60 your installing before preloader in that guide is the offical one from nintendo.Its not until later in the guide and after preloader that you install the custom version of that IOS


    Anyone confirm this is correct or am i missing something?
     
  20. deshwasi

    Member deshwasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    correct. preloader, then the ios60bk, then preloader again (to fix the corruption caused by ios60bk)
     

Share This Page