I'm so lost in Linux!

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by playallday, Nov 30, 2008.

Nov 30, 2008

I'm so lost in Linux! by playallday at 11:14 PM (1,100 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  2. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    If you want something to run on a computer like that. No Ubuntu with a GUI would not run on that. You are going to have to run CLI so yea... DSL would be alright for that computer and that is about it.
     
  3. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I'm running Windows 98 as it is... Doesn't that have a GUI [​IMG] ?
     
  4. 9volt Kappa

    Newcomer 9volt Kappa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    With only 64MB of RAM,you might want to try puppy linux(can be run off disc),I don't even think xubuntu would run with that much ram.Also there is viruses just very few.
     
  5. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    They recommended at least 128 megs of ram and 3 gigs of hard drive space for ubuntu and this was the release from 2006... You tell me? You never mentioned what cpu you had.

    I guess if you really want to run something with a GUI, Xubuntu is the way to go. But still I would stick to DSL or something super light weight.
     
  6. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Great, I think I'll try Puppy Linux! Can I use it without a mouse?
     
  7. 9volt Kappa

    Newcomer 9volt Kappa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm... don't know
     
  8. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    DSL (Damn Small Linux) Info:
    • Boot from a business card CD as a live linux distribution (LiveCD)
    • Boot from a USB pen drive
    • Boot from within a host operating system (that's right, it can run *inside* Windows)
    • Run very nicely from an IDE Compact Flash drive via a method we call "frugal install"
    • Transform into a Debian OS with a traditional hard drive install
    • Run light enough to power a 486DX with 16MB of Ram
    • Run fully in RAM with as little as 128MB (you will be amazed at how fast your computer can be!)
    • Modularly grow -- DSL is highly extendable without the need to customize
     
  9. 9volt Kappa

    Newcomer 9volt Kappa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh one more thing,you can take the puppy disc out after booting up if you need to use the disc drive(might be useful if you're planning to run puppy off a CD)
     
  10. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Never mind, I can't even get my old computer to boot from drive E! It only wants to boot from C or A.
     
  11. 9volt Kappa

    Newcomer 9volt Kappa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you set it to in your bios?
     
  12. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    many old computers lack the ability to boot from CD drive, you will have to download or make a boot floppy, i know for a fact that DSL has boot floppy images in the same place you download it from
     
  13. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes I did. But, I found a program called "WakePuppy" that's works great for me! Yay, Puppy Linux is up and running!
     

Share This Page