iEvo not working with DSi XL

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by bunnusmac, Nov 23, 2011.

Nov 23, 2011

iEvo not working with DSi XL by bunnusmac at 4:05 AM (1,471 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. bunnusmac
    OP

    Newcomer bunnusmac Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I followed the directions in the faq, and double checked with videos.
    When I insert the card into my DSi XL I see the icon for MechAssault however when I go to open it I get the error,

    "An error has occurred. Press and hold the Power Button to turn the system off. Please see the Nintendo DSi Operations manual for help troubleshooting"

    I reformatted the SD card as fat32 and redownloaded the firmware and bootstrap just in case. However it was to no avail. I scanned the first few pages of the forum, but I didn't see anything in regards to this card. Sorry if its a repost.

    I even took my DS back to factory settings just in case that was the problem, but I still get the same issue. Is there anything I can do or am I completely out of luck and wasted my money?
     
  2. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    What firmware is your DSi on?
    The iEvo hasn't been updated for newer firmware
     
  3. bunnusmac
    OP

    Newcomer bunnusmac Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Ver. 1.4.3
    The ievo firmware I used 2.3 which is the most up to date, but I tried the prior version 2.2, but that didn't work either. :/
     
  4. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    factory setting have nothing to do with flash cart compatibility.

    If you're on the newest DSi firmware than the iEVO won't work.
    Nothing anyone can do about it
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. bunnusmac
    OP

    Newcomer bunnusmac Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Did Cyclo drop the project or so you think they will release a new update?
     
  6. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    I can't say for sure, but I doubt we'll ever see an update for the iEvo
     
  7. junn

    Member junn .

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
  8. bunnusmac
    OP

    Newcomer bunnusmac Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I only have a Dsi. Can it only be done while using the DSL? If not I'm sure I can get my hands on one somehow.
     
  9. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    As
    As said, you need a dslite to use this trick.
     
  10. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Or a DSi/DSiXL with 1.4.2 or below. Go try a DSL out in a Gamestop or other used console seller and ask if you can play a few minutes with it and see how it works for you.

    Other than that, nothing can be done to help you unless TC releases a new FW build to enable it at least for 1.4.3.. 3DS compatibility may be lost for DS mode without constant updates, but at least the DSi/DSiXL could still be saved..


    -Qtis
     
  11. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, the iEvo really DID wind up like the original card. No support. :(
     
  12. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Sadly, so far, yes. Though this is bound to happen to all products on the long run, but this one's life cycle is quite a bit too short..


    -Qtis
     

Share This Page