kinder_bueno

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Poland
Hello,

I wanted to try to learn cracking nds roms in order to prepare a patch for Mario & Luigi Bowser's Inside Story. I am a professional programmer, but specialized in high level programming languages. Still, I have some basics of assembly language (learned on my university) and already made myself familiar with no$gba debugger. The problem is that I've no idea how to start - I already know that this game requires at least patching arm7, and probably arm9 as well (concluded from checksums comparison of clean and patched rom). I know that I could try to change every if-else implementation and let's say, negate conditions (beq operand <-> bne operand) but there is a lot of them in the code. I suppose that it wouldn't be sufficient anyway - it's quite possible that developers could make it more tricky, e.g. by making use of operands like addeq or addne thus conditionally calculating some memory address. I would really appreciate if someone experienced could share her/his experience with me or give some insight.

Last edited by kinder_bueno,

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
I did have a thread covering some of the things around here once when I was thinking about a project to have an open database of AP fixes for the DS. Could not find it a few months back when I was looking for it though.

Anyway general theory is any means the game can use to detect it is not running on a normal cart will be used to trip such things.

3 approaches seen in ROMs
1) Below 8000h reads
2) Binary checksum
3) Save timing, though this was one particularly rare Japanese game.