1. Substance12

    OP Substance12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Country:
    Argentina
    I feel like i'm seriously missing something. I've followed the whole procedure to install a CFW and now I have a shiny new emuNAND with rxTools and CtrBootManager. But I feel like I missed a step, I mean... that's all? The rxTools installation took like 3 seconds?

    Also, is it true that accesing Data Management > Nintendo 3DS > Software on a specific NAND (can't remember if sysNAND or emuNAND) will brick the console?
     
    Last edited by Substance12, Jan 5, 2016
  2. jaksy

    jaksy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    United States
    I believe it's said to merely brick your emunand sd card, requiring a reinstall of everything.

    I mean you could unlink your nands and update emunand to 10.3 or 9.5 on N3ds for better support with newer games.
    You could also setup bootntr.cia to bypass region lock issues on N3ds, and to access it's language plugin for more stubborn games.

    If you're on an o3ds though, you should be good to bring your emunand to 10.3 if you unlink your nands. That will allow eshop access and installing of the latest games without fwspoof cia.
     
    Last edited by jaksy, Jan 5, 2016
  3. Substance12

    OP Substance12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Country:
    Argentina
    My NANDs are unlinked, and i'm making backups of both now. I may install NTR CFW just in case.
     
  4. jaksy

    jaksy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    United States
    I mean I'm assuming you already squared away cia installs through either injecting FBI, or forcing a cia manager install to emunand somehow?
    Because now that I reread your first post I don't see you mentioning that.
     
  5. MegaBoyEXE

    MegaBoyEXE GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Brazil
    You only have problems if you boot direct to sysNand, and enter Data Management.
    If your sysNAND and emuNAND are linked, your non-legit CIAs will be wiped from sysNand.

    BTW, never enter RxMode in SysNAND. There's nothing to do there in this mode.
    If you set CTRBootManager to boot direct to emunand, it's fine. Nothing bad can happens.

    Also note that everytime you enter System Settings and exit, you device is rebooted. So, without autoboot to emunand, you will end up in sysNAND!!
    Beware just with this.

    I would recommend that you start posting things about CFW in it's own forum.
    This is homebrew forum.

    https://gbatemp.net/forums/3ds-flashcards-custom-firmwares.201/
     
    jaksy likes this.
  6. Substance12

    OP Substance12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Country:
    Argentina
    I installed FBI before creating an emuNAND, so now I have FBI on emuNAND and a seemingly invisible FBI on sysNAND (for obvious reasons, loading Pasta CFW should make it show up)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Sorry, it's just i'm really used to posting here. And yes, I have menuhax set to autoboot on rxTools and only boot onto sysNAND if I press a button. Plus... i'm not stupid, I put a different theme on emuNAND, it's very easy to tell which one is which.
     
  7. jaksy

    jaksy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    United States
    Cool cool, sounds like you are good and where you need to be, assuming that FBI manages to successful install cia files to emunand without error.

    Might want to grab BBM.cia (BigBlueMenu) as a test, another cia manager which has better dlc support than FBI, and is useful to have around as a backup.
     
  8. Substance12

    OP Substance12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Country:
    Argentina
    Good idea, i'll install it later.
     
  9. MegaBoyEXE

    MegaBoyEXE GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Brazil

    That's the recommended setup.
    You will only need to visit sysnand when you adventure installing GBA or DSiWare games, that require to be installed both sysnand and emunand as you have unlinked nands.
    In this case, use the Advanced menu in rxTools and enter sysnand in DevMode.
     
    jaksy likes this.
  10. jaksy

    jaksy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    United States
    I've also heard this is the safe and preferred method for dsiware and gba installs, though I'm not entirely sure why.
     
  11. Substance12

    OP Substance12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Country:
    Argentina
    So, to make sure, entering Data Management > Nintendo 3DS > Software on emuNAND won't break anything?
     
  12. MegaBoyEXE

    MegaBoyEXE GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Brazil
    DevMode is a less 'patched' mode of rxtools.
    It is almost the same a entering sysnand directly, but it patches out only the cia signature check, so you can install and launch non-legit CIAS, at the same time you are not spoofing the firmware.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Yep! You can remove FBI or any other CIA you did install from Data Management in emunand!!
    Just remember you will be rebooted when exiting System Settings.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - rxTools, working,