I Found a working gbaemu4ds

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Shubshub, Nov 30, 2012.

Nov 30, 2012

I Found a working gbaemu4ds by Shubshub at 12:57 AM (6,775 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Shubshub
    OP

    Member Shubshub The Shubinator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    848
    Location:
    The dark part of your house
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I Was just Looking through threads here and found a thread Titled Best way to play GBA ROMS on dsi
    So I went into the thread and it had a Link to a site that had an emulator titled
    gbaemu4ds I Downloaded it and also went and got a Legend of Zelda Minish Cap GBA Rom Tested
    it and to my surprise it actually worked on my Red DS Lite Acekard2i (Note this is a Normal DS Not a DSi)

    Important Links Regarding the gbaemu4ds

    Download Site: http://ichfly.github.com/gbaemu4DS/
    Compatibility Page: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Gbaemu4ds_Compatibility_List
    FAQ's: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Gbaemu4DS_FAQ

    Please Note I Did Not Create this Software somebody else did so Please don't PM me asking why This and that doesnt work or why That feature isnt implemented PM The Creator of the software (Im not sure what his username is but when I Find it out ill Post it in this thread)

    By the looks of it.. It currently is in the alpha stages with Very glitchy sound

    But Tell me Would you Rather...
    Use the EZ-FLASH Expansion and risk Losing Save Files Although with Perfect Gameplay and everything
    or Suffer Minor Glitches with a Software that Can actually Save properly?
     
  2. chavosaur

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    So you found the project that is hosted here on Gbatemp, and linked us to something thats a couple topics above your thread?
    I applaud your searching skillz sir!
     
    SLiV3R, tofast4u, corenting and 4 others like this.
  3. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,883
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica

    I'd use my original GBA cards ;]
    Or GBA flashcards.

    No performance issues what so ever, and their playable on a DS/Lite.


    However it's nice to see a lot of progress to the POC GBA emu for the DS.
     
  4. Chary

    Reporter Chary GBAtemp's #1 Naoto

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Steins Gate World Line
    Country:
    United States
    To be honest, I'm shocked. I did not know that there was a GBA emu on the original DS. When was this first developed?
     
  5. chavosaur

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
  6. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    So we have a thread to reference a thread on gbatemp...I'm not sure about how productive that is.
     
  7. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Just smile and move on..
    Nothing to see here.
     
  8. urbanman2004

    Member urbanman2004 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    thanks i didn't know
     
  9. 3DSDestroyer

    Newcomer 3DSDestroyer Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello! Does this work with R4i SDHC RTS...? Or only with r4i gold. im rying to run pokemon firered but i can't play it...
    Thank you!
     
  10. TecXero

    Member TecXero Technovert

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,813
    Location:
    Mainframe
    Country:
    United States
    It does work on R4i RTS. The thread the OP linked has a compatibility list linked there for ROMs. I'm not sure how up to date it is.

    @Topic: Honestly, I just prefer keeping my Game Boy Micro close by with an EZ4 for my GBA games. All my other handheld games are on my R4i RTS in my 3DS.
     
  11. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you want a decent GBA DS emulator, the only good one is the one for the DS2. Otherwise you're better off picking up a GBA flash cart and a DSlite or GBA. Alternatively, just buy an EZ Flash 3in1 to go with a cheapy slot 1 card for the DSlite, like an original R4 (or rather, their exact reproductions out there). Personally, I have the R4 + EZ Flash 3in1 w/ my DSlite, and it works pretty much perfectly.

    Edit: IIRC, this emulator never really got anywhere significant. It tried, but the DS is just too limited to do GBA emulation well all on its own.
     
  12. Acidflare

    Member Acidflare HomeBrew Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,107
    Location:
    Nether World
    Country:
    Canada
    you can't really imagine that a gba emulator would run well at all without glitchy sound and some graphics missing the DS doesn't have enough power to fully emulate an snes which the gba has even more trouble with and the snes has less hardware then the gba so in all retrospect you can't expect it to run all that well which is why it's best to have a DS(L) +EZ-Flash 3in1 or any other GBA flash cart, so the DS gets thrown into gba mode

    I have a DSLite R4i Gold 3DS+EZ-Flash 3in1 with gameyob for GB/GBC
     

Share This Page