I found a bug in the disk channel!! i think...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dark_anth, Nov 11, 2008.

Nov 11, 2008
  1. Dark_anth
    OP

    Banned Dark_anth Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United States
    I was messing around with the new HBC and i desided to play my "backup" of mario kart. then i chanded my mind and i exited to the system menu. i looked at the disk channel and sure enough super monkey ball was supposidly still in my wii. it showed the banner and played the music. i tried to boot up the backup with the disk channel but only got an error. mybe this can be exploited some how.... and idea why this would happen and what we could do with this?
     
  2. junk_man32

    Banned junk_man32 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
  3. g00s3y

    Newcomer g00s3y Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
    maybe you could use it to play super monkey kart? lol
     
  4. malverns

    Newcomer malverns Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol thats pretty funny...

    Anyway, this bug has been found and will be implemented into the next Wiigater/waninkoko backup launcer (the gamma release) and you will be able to launch backups from the disc channel...

    It will be released REALLLLLLL soon and the games will have much better compatibility and will run faster!
     
  5. Dark_anth
    OP

    Banned Dark_anth Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United States
    haha oh. well btw the only reason i have super munkey ball was because i was at my friends house and we stole it from koles. why? you might ask... its because it was from koles. lol
    couple of Qs
    1) when was this bug found?
    2) when will the new loader be relesed?
    3)why does it do that?
    2) how can you change it to read the banner of the backup?
     
  6. charlieawesome

    Newcomer charlieawesome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Australia
    by koles do you mean Coles the supermarket?
     
  7. Luriden

    Member Luriden GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Topeka, KS
    Country:
    United States
    What you got against monkeys? And balls?

    In all honesty that game sucked ass.
     
  8. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Same thing happened earlier with me. I had PKMN Battle Revolution(original), I was dumping it. But then I took it out and put in a backup disc to play on the backup loader. I exited the Wii HTTPdumper, and out the HBC, and I saw PKMN Battle Revolution there. I tried to play, but gave an error. [​IMG] The banner loaded and everything :/ THAT'S FREAKY!
     
  9. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    This "bug" is old and has happened with the Wii since release. For instance, it happened with my legal copy of SSBB and my legal copy of Rock Band, as well as my legal copy of Wii Sports. Nothing here is going to be exploited, do the scene a favor and keep your mouths closed, speculation gives the morons hope, hope drives rumors, rumors drive beliefs, and the next thing you know, you see gaming news sites with "RUMOR - GIANT WII EXPLOIT POSSIBLY FOUND, INVOLVES DISC CHANNEL".
     
  10. Apex

    Member Apex GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    èŒšćŸŽçœŒ
    Country:
    Japan
    The only reason I have Super Monkey Ball, is because I like Super Monkey Ball, a lot. Thanks for making it seem as if I like something that isn't cool. Sorry for being off topic.
     
  11. junk_man32

    Banned junk_man32 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    hey why dont you calm down there a bit....
     
  12. junk_man32

    Banned junk_man32 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    hey why dont you calm down there a bit....
     
  13. junk_man32

    Banned junk_man32 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    woop srry for double post
     
  14. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    If you were actually sorry, you wouldn't have made a THIRD post. There's an EDIT button for a reason.

    EDIT: See? I just added this after I submitted the original post.

    And Sonicandtails has a perfectly legitimate point. Some kid reports a "bug" and rumors start swirling (outside of the scene, since they've known these bugs for a long time) and then people come around asking for exploits and bitching when there isn't one. It's ridiculous. The bug is old and I do NOT believe it will be used in the next backup loader.
     
  15. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no need for an exploit, the new G BL will allow this
     
  16. denzil

    Newcomer denzil Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Of course. There's nothing happening out of the ordinary, other than that the disk isn't in the drive anymore. It won't allow you to boot backups any more than any regular banner or disk launch process would. It is more of a "glitch" than a "bug", and has nothing to do with what the backup launchers are doing to the system menu to convince it to accept backups.
     

Share This Page