I don't get the Starfall rescure "menu"

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Shinigami Kiba, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    I just held Y while my Wii was booting up to see what the menu was like and there ain't no meny no nothing, just a black screen with 3.2E in white font in the lower right corner of the screen.

    You can't do anything with this, I had to turn my Wii off and then back on to get out of the dang thing.

    Guys, is this thing supposed to save me from a brick if it ever happens?
     
  2. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Yep, this was the rescue-menu, it works. It's minimalistic, but it does a great job. It let's you boot a Disc for you, like Zelda. So you can launch with the Twilght-Hack something (WAD-Manager, etc.) and fix your Wii. Or you can use one of these here:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=123708&st=0

    It's minimalistic, and not realy a rescue-menu...it just let you boot a disc.
     
  3. FRanatic

    Member FRanatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Starfall rescue menu:

    Chipped users can 'autoboot' any disc, like WadManager autoboot and fix the bannerbrick.
    Non-chipped users can boot TP (retail) and use the TP hack to boot wadmanager from the sd (named to boot.dol @ root).

    That's it really. Rescuemenu is badly named. It's a disc autoboot feature.
     
  4. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    thanks guys, good to know it works and I'm safe
    oh and I also have a chip, WiiKey1 so I guess I'm safe in case of a potential brick [​IMG]
     
  5. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the "starfall" rescue menu isnt starfall's own, its nintendo's, its made for cases of bricks where upgradeing to a new system version(by inserting a newer game with a newer update) will fix the case(usualy) or if nintendo needs to boot there "gay fish" disk to be able to get your VC games for backup/transfer. but its also usefull(hmmm dunno about that tbh) to autoboot games without need to boot your wii system menu 1st)
     

Share This Page