I can't get any .cia files to install

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Fast as FUG, Sep 6, 2016.

  1. Fast as FUG
    OP

    Fast as FUG Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Sep 6, 2016
    United States
    I even try installing FBI.cia (through FBI LOL), and always get this error:
    Failed to install CIA file.
    Result code: 0xD8E0806A
    Level: Permanent (27)
    Summary: Invalid argument (7)
    Module: AM (32)
    Desc: Cert signature or hash check failed (106)

    I'm using an o3DS with firmware 9.0.0-11U. I'm launching 2.7 gamma through Ironfall 1.0 (Ironhax), if that matters. I get the same error with every CIA file.
     
  2. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    8,078
    3,263
    Mar 16, 2012
    United States
    Do you have a custom firmware set up? You need one in order to install CIAs.
     
  3. Fast as FUG
    OP

    Fast as FUG Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Sep 6, 2016
    United States
    No idea how that works LOL
    Please link me a guide, I'm always getting confused with all this sysnand and emunand stuff :(
    I just want me CIAs
    also I have to wait 58 seconds wtf
     
  4. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    8,078
    3,263
    Mar 16, 2012
    United States
    Since you just want custom firmware, follow Part 3 of this guide. And follow Section II - Injecting FBI ONLY from this guide to inject FBI into your Health&Safety app so that you can install CIAs on your emuNAND.
     
  5. Fast as FUG
    OP

    Fast as FUG Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Sep 6, 2016
    United States
    There doesn't seem to be a luma folder anywhere. Is it normally empty (can I just make a new folder called luma?)?
     
  6. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    8,078
    3,263
    Mar 16, 2012
    United States
    In the old versions of Luma3DS, there was a luma folder but it was always empty and was deleted in newer versions as a result. You can just make a new folder called luma.
     
    Last edited by KunoichiZ, Sep 6, 2016
    Fast as FUG likes this.
  7. Fast as FUG
    OP

    Fast as FUG Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Sep 6, 2016
    United States
    They said this Akasa Interconnect EX delivered USB 3.0 read speeds for SD cards.
    I think they lied.
    Maybe it's just this 7200RPM HDD though LOL


    ...

    :(
    5mB/s-30mB/s

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    :sad: 2 am

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    For some reason emuNAND9 won't load :(
    Does it only work on 9.2? I hear about a downgrade, but I'm on 9.0, would I have to upgrade to 9.2?
     
  8. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    8,078
    3,263
    Mar 16, 2012
    United States
    It takes a few tries to load. Just keep at it and it'll work. 9.0 is essentially the same as 9.2.
     
  9. Fast as FUG
    OP

    Fast as FUG Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Sep 6, 2016
    United States
    At this point I've tried loading it 50 times, 7/10 times just 2 red bottom screens, 2/10 times 1 red bottom screen, 1/10 times just black. Either way, it always goes back to the Homebrew channel after 5 seconds.
     
  10. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    8,078
    3,263
    Mar 16, 2012
    United States
    Try updating to 9.2 by following Part 2 of the guide I linked you.
     
    Fast as FUG likes this.
  11. Fast as FUG
    OP

    Fast as FUG Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Sep 6, 2016
    United States
    k, files are transferring back onto the SD card
     
  12. Fast as FUG
    OP

    Fast as FUG Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Sep 6, 2016
    United States
    thanks boi/grill
    I mean, I just spent several hours on this, but it's working fine now!


    tfw you spend 15-16 hours at a computer for 3DS hacks until 4 AM
     
    KunoichiZ likes this.