1. TrObAs

    OP TrObAs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Greece
    Hello , i bought a jailbroken Switch a few months ago but yesterday i decided to update it from 8.0.1 to 9.0.1 . I made a big mistake because I did not realize I have installed version 4.0.1 so basically I downgraded my console with choidujourNX. After everything finished when a message asks what type o memory card you have instead of exFat I choose Fat32. After the reboot, I send atmosphere payload to the console via TegraRCM I see the first Image with atmosphere logo then black screen. I have tried every possible payload hekake , reink same result after the first screen black screen. I have read that it might had to do with the SD , so I formatted my SD card to Fat32 copy everything back same result. Then I tried something from a youtube video and after sending hekake payload disabled AutoRCM , the result black screen!!! Now I can no longer send any payload to my switch , I have tried every key combination to wake the console but I have no response fromTegraRCM. I tried with a paperclip jig but with no result , so I ordered a jig and hopefully something will turn on.

    When doing all the above, switch had 75% battery

    I need your advice, have I destroyed my console? Because I did not make any NAND backup.......
    Is there any way to save my console?

    Thank you
     
  2. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    Russia
    ...autoRCM had nothing to do with it, why did you turn it off? Now you probably just can't properly enter RCM. First of all hold power for 10-12 seconds to turn the switch off. Then either wait for you jig or try again with paper clip (cause i had been using paper clip for ages back then without any problems) to get into hekate.
    Then...well, you can try that if nothing works...- https://switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualchoiupgrade

    But at first after getting into hekate, try formatting your sd ton fat32 again and getting latest Atmos files and try to launch it through hekate.
     
    Last edited by bad361, Feb 21, 2020
  3. Retroboy

    Retroboy GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,280
    Country:
    if you updated, why didnt you just update your cfw as it supports 9.1 fw
     
  4. TrObAs

    OP TrObAs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Greece
    I did not rutn off the console, after disabling Auto RCM the console turned black so I thought it i has restarted and press power again to try sending another payload.
    I tried with a paper clip jig but nothing happened. I will try again, could you suggest a tutorial that will help me make a correct jig ? Also I have found the Guide you have posted but I cannot find the keys.txt at step 8.Copy your hactool keys.txt into the ChoiDujour folder. I run hack tool , I choose my sd but it returns an error and does not continue.

    Retroboy, I was going to update to 9.1 but I made a mistake and downloaded 4.0.1 instead of 9.1 and did not doublecheck before installation (This is the first time I do something without double-checking everything) .


    Thank you
     
    Last edited by TrObAs, Feb 22, 2020
  5. TunaKetchup

    TunaKetchup GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    443
    Country:
    Vietnam
    The fact that you installed 4.0.1 instead of 9.1 makes you hopeless in my book

    You probably had 20 or so opportunities to realize your mistake before you hit the install button

    Why do people do stuff without even having the knowledge required to do it? Fucking a
     
    Last edited by TunaKetchup, Feb 22, 2020
    DrHouse1337 likes this.
  6. GBADWB

    GBADWB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States

    This is the weird part to me too. Last I recall, Choidujour NX scans the file and tells you which firmware the files are from, and makes you go through several selections before even installing the files(select folder, it scans, pick exfat or not, and then you have to click install I think?). To make the mistake of installing the wrong firmware is pretty much blatantly not reading the message and warnings.
     
  7. TunaKetchup

    TunaKetchup GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    443
    Country:
    Vietnam
    How do you know you installed the wrong firmware?
     
  8. Dust2dust

    Dust2dust GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    Canada
    Probably not the first time, since you also didn't double-check that you made a NAND backup. :P But yeah, to get back to the topic, I would say too many fuses burned for the firmware. In theory, enter RCM with some jig, run ChoidujourNX (can it be ran from RCM? :unsure:) and install the latest firmware. Your fuses will get back in sync with your firmware and the Switch will boot.
     
    wartutor likes this.
  9. TrObAs

    OP TrObAs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Greece
    Guys, I understand my mistake and I am asking if you could help me so I can fix it.
    I don't know if I have installed the wrong firmware, I know that instead of 9.0.1 I installed 4.0.1 and I thought my SD was fat32 so I have chosen Fat32 but it was exFat.

    My hope is that someone knows if this problem can be fixed if not then I destroyed my console because of my stupidity!
     
  10. Dust2dust

    Dust2dust GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    Canada
    There is no choidujour payload for RCM, unfortunately, but I believe this should work.

    https://switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualchoiupgrade

    Also use this for updating to the latest:

    https://github.com/D3fau4/ChoiDujour/releases

    keys.txt hard to find? Google to the rescue, as usual. Search for switch 9.1.0 keys. It should be the first result, on reddit. You'll have to decode them, but that's just a copy/paste job, really.

    Now don't hesitate to double-check or even triple-check everything. If you manage to heal your Switch, go back to square one, and make a NAND backup, the single most important thing to do that can save your ass. :lol:
     
    Last edited by Dust2dust, Feb 22, 2020
  11. TrObAs

    OP TrObAs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Greece
    I will do follow by the book all the steps , if I am successful I will let you know that you have saved my day!!!!
     
  12. Assasin1990

    Assasin1990 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    Moldova
    hey @TrObAs , how is goin ? i'm about to replicate what happened to you (i have 4 backups of nand so don't worry) for research purpose.
     
  13. TrObAs

    OP TrObAs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Greece
    So is it possible to send me one to try fix mine ?
     
  14. Emeraldu

    Emeraldu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Romania
    Please also note that the switch will CHARGE SLOWLY IN RCM MODE and it may take 6-10 hours of charging until it can be turned on.
    Press power button, charge it overnight using the original AC adapter then try to enter RCM using a JIG
     
  15. TrObAs

    OP TrObAs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Greece
    I found the keys at reddit , i paste them to decode them at a website but when i try to run choidujour it tells me invalid NCA header . as i found there is an error with the keys.
     
  16. Assasin1990

    Assasin1990 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    Moldova
    no , wanted to ask you , after downgrade to 4.xx the console booted up and hung after nintendo switch logo ?
     
  17. TrObAs

    OP TrObAs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Greece
    No logo at all I only see a black screen nothing else.

    I found the prod.keys files in my SD also I made a Nand backup before my switch stop working completely. There is a 27gb Backup folder in my card. The problem is that I found 9.1 keys but something is wrong and I get an error
     
  18. Assasin1990

    Assasin1990 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    Moldova
    then boot hekate and restore
     
  19. Trunkz

    Trunkz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Since you have a NAND backup; why dont you just boot to Hekate in RCM and restore your backup??
     
  20. TrObAs

    OP TrObAs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Greece
    i will try to make a jig and try If i can. Should I follow the guide that was posted to do it ?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - bricked, switch, please