I "bricked" my computer D: Need help ASAP

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by War, Nov 6, 2008.

Nov 6, 2008
  1. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    I have very limited access to the internet right now since I'm using my mom's Mac, which she never ever lets me use... ever. Anyway, let me get to the problem. So today was a typical day, I was on GBAtemp and ignoring my homework as usual. I realized I hadn't scanned my computer for viruses in a long time, so I ran NOD32 and started downloading Avast! Everything was going smoothly, and suddenly, NOD32 lets me know there's an infected file. It told me it had quarantined it, so I figured I was fine. So I finish downloading Avast, and I go to install it. By the end of the installation, it tells me I have to reboot the computer for it to take effect. Since NOD32 was still running, I said no. Here's where things get strange.

    Even though I clearly clicked on "no", the computer started to close everything. I realized it was shutting down... that's odd, I thought. Didn't think much of it. So the computer starts up, goes to the welcome screen... and here's my problem. It goes past the welcome screen, and displays my wallpaper... and that's it. Literally the only things I can see are my wallpaper and my mouse. Nothing else. I tried CTRL ALT DEL, right-clicking, etc. Nothing works.

    So at this point I'm wondering what the hell Im supposed to do... I know you guys are probably gonna tell me to re-install Windows XP, but I don't want to do that unless there's absolutely no other option. I have a lot of important stuff I don't want to wipe, so it would be a big loss for me... however, if thats what it takes to recover my computer, then so be it. Anyway, I'm hoping you guys can offer me some other solutions.

    Let's say, however, that the ONLY solution is to reinstall Windows XP. How exactly would I do this? Thankfully, I have my mom's laptop, which she agreed to let me download Windows XP in. So do I just download Windows XP, burn it onto a DVD, and then... what? I was trying to fix my computer, and I noticed that there's a sort of boot menu as the computer starts. I think I remember someone telling me that I wold have to insert the DVD with XP in it, then click F2 or whatever it is to go to the settings, and choose to boot from the DVD drive... I'm not sure though. Please guys, take your time to explain it DETAILED to me. I will have very minimal internet access, so I need straight forward and detailed answers. Thank you very much!
     


  2. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    It would be possible to back stuff up by booting into Ubuntu via Live CD and having some sort of external storage probably.

    Windows XP can fit on a CD

    To boot from a CD (To install Windows XP or for Ubuntu) you have to go into the BIOS and set the boot priority to CD before Hard drive. The BIOS is mostly accessed by pressing some button on a keyboard at startup. I forget if its F10, F2, or Delete, so just press them all at once.

    The installation is pretty self-explanatory for Windows XP.
     
  3. Maybe

    Member Maybe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    Ouch, sorry for that =/ I have minimal knowledge about messed up PC's, so the only thing I can think of that would make sense is to try and boot it in safe mode (f8 during bootup) and trying a system restore to a few days or w/e. I don't even know if that would work. Sorry again, and good luck figuring it out [​IMG]
     
  4. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    You may have to re install XP. As for getting your 'important' files off, you can use a GNU/Linux Live CD. Don't bother with Ubuntu or anything big. Puppy Linux should do the trick just fine. Boot whatever distro you chose and copy the files somewhere else. Reinstalling XP is easy as well
     
  5. matrix121391

    Member matrix121391 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    If you can afford it, call an expert computer technician. He or she will know exactly what to do.
     
  6. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Well actually, I realized that most of my REALLY important stuff that would be hard to get back is luckily in my external HDD. So is there a way to do a system restore without accessing the desktop?

    Just in case, I'm downloading XP on my mom's computer as we speak. I'm gonna leave it downloading overnight.

    Thank you for letting me know how to boot it Diablo, sounds easy enough.

    Btw, something weird is hapening... I went to show my mom what was wrong, and something new happened. Before the welcome screen, now it said that is was checking the hard disc and restoring "orphan files"... I guess it realized something was going on and attempted to fix it? I'll let you guys know what happens.
     
  7. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,517
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    You could use another computer and download erd commander that will atleast let you boot the OS from a disk and you can hopefully copy and save your important files to another hard drive the other thing to try is ..... hit control alt delete , if the task manger pops up go to ... File , in the drop down box hit new task and tyoe explorer.exe and see if that helps , if you type iexplorer.exe that should open your browser
     
  8. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,517
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    one more thing when reinstalling be sure to do a fresh install , that requiers you to delete the partion , then recreate , and if the hard drive is big enough I suggest you create 2 partions this way you can save your important shit to the other partion just incase this ever happens again you wont lose your important shit. Deleting the partion helps in the fact that when you recreate it , you will have a new master boot record.
     
  9. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Like I mentioned above, all it shows is my wallpaper. I can't see any icons, open any windows, etc.
     
  10. DEF-

    Member DEF- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Boot it into safe mode with F8 (just after the bios screen disapear, hammer F8). You should be able to fix it from there, system restore, scan for viruses, etc.

    You can also boot to a minimal type of OS (ubuntu live cd, win pe) and copy the files to an external storage, as someone else said.

    If you have a virus many manufacturers have boot cds which you can boot up your computer with to remove viruses.

    When you choose the path to reinstall XP, you can try to reinstall a new XP over the previous one, might save you some time if that fixes it. Have worked a few times for me. Just choose new installation but pick the same installation destination as the old XP.

    Just a few tips.
     
  11. Fun_Zephyr

    Member Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    It is very strange that CTRL ALT DEL did not come up with something. What you have described is the result o fa virus going round at the moment. If you had CTRL ALT DEL (Task Manager) you would be able to complete a few things.

    Try booting the computer into SAFE MODE. Turn the computer on and before it starts to load XP you need to push F8. My suggestions is to just keep tapping the F8 key.

    Once in safe mode and if you get a desktop:

    Start - Programs - Accessories - System Tools System Restore (Might be slightly different if you us ea different Menu type)

    Once the screen appears (Select to restore your computer to an earlier time. Select a date prior to when it broke down and start the restore.

    No guarantee this will work but it might help you.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. wzeroc

    Member wzeroc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Johor, Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    well, why don't you first uninstall one of the antivirus? if you use two antivirus at once, of course the computer won't work properly.

    why did you install avast, anyway? you've already got nod32, should be good enough for virus protection.

    edit: oh yeah, forgot. enter safe mode to uninstall.
     
  13. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Ok, thank you for the information! So far, I have entered "Safe Mode with Networking". I'm gonna try to do a system restore. Any other things I should do in safe mode? Run NOD32 again?

    And the reason why I downloaded Avast is because I wanted to rely on something else other than NOD32...sometimes NOD says it doesn't find anything but there are still adware and viruses.
     
  14. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,517
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    if your gonna use a free antivirus you should look in to avg for free heres the link
    http://free.avg.com/download-avg-anti-virus-free-edition
    I use to use avg till I decided to pirate nortons for my newer computer [​IMG] the only bad thing I can say about avg is , is that it treats all keygens like virus weather they are or not. The only way to use a key gen under avg is to disable avg first. just the antivirus part that is.

    Control alt delete should work regardless of weather you see any desktop icons or not. as soon as you see the desktop just do like i told ya in the 1st post.
     
  15. wzeroc

    Member wzeroc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Johor, Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    well then, before you do anything, uninstall nod32. after uninstalling nod32, restart your computer first and try to login normally tou your windows.
     
  16. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Safe mode is the first thing I would try so let us know how that works as soon as you know [​IMG]

    Are you on a Desktop or Laptop (the computer thats having the problem, not your moms)
     
  17. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Phew, what a relief! I honestly do not say this often enough, but thanks everyone here in GBAtemp that helped me out with this; I finally fixed it! I went into safe mode and simply did a system restore, now everything is fine and working as good as it was before. Thank heavens, man... I nearly had a heart attack.

    At least now I know what do if this ever happens again. (Hopefully not!) Once again, thank you very VERY much!

    (Btw, I'm posting from the desktop now :])
     
  18. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,517
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    Glad to hear it . you should look into a regisrty cleaner , I use ace utilities , you will be surprised at how crap is sitting on the computer
     
  19. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Good to have you back [​IMG]
     
  20. AeroHex

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    i had something very like that but,

    i got to the login and it had a light blue thing i had to open task manager and kill this trojan and i went from there but im happy when people fix virus's up the liitle ****s ive formatted my computer about 7-8 times seriously untill it but the dust and wouldnt even turn on,i think i blew a fuse or ****ed up the motherboard but thats another story

    may i ask what were you doing before you scanned.....porn.....lol
     

Share This Page