How to patch a GBC file witg DLDI? (R4 DS)

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by lilfrankie, Feb 13, 2007.

Feb 13, 2007
  1. lilfrankie
    OP

    Member lilfrankie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    New with patching and stuff..
    But I saw that someone said that to run .gb or .gbc files on a R4, you have to patch them with DLDI (dldi is an other thing which I don't really get (why wanna patch .nds files, as they already work fine on a R4.. [​IMG] ), but thanks to the readme.txt, I have it on my DS)

    But now my question is ofcourse, how do I patch a .gbc file with DLDI to a .nds file or what?
    Don't really get what I have to do and also what I am doing..

    Thanx anyway and sorry for the trouble..

    Frank
     
  2. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Well what you actually patch is the homebrew emulator that allows you to play the gb and gbc roms. It dooesn't actually turn the roms into a nds file. DLDI is for homebrew.

    So, get the emulator. DLDI patch it for the R4. Put the patched nds onto your microSD card as well as a folder with gb/gbc roms in it. After that, fire up ur R4 and start the emulator.
     
  3. lilfrankie
    OP

    Member lilfrankie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Netherlands
    woow, thanx, that cleared it up a bit [​IMG]
    Now, which emulator should I get, for gb and gbc games?
     
  4. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030
    you need Goomba Color.

    it's a GBC emulator for GBA ... so you can't run it on your R4

    there's no GBC emulator for DS as far as I know...
     
  5. jeklnoo

    Member jeklnoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States
    There's at least two, but one of them (gnuboy port), is uber slow, and the other (dsboy by ethos) is somewhat slow. None that run at 100% that i know of.
     
  6. 111111111

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    Doesn't the gba play gbc games anyway - without the need of an emulator.
     
  7. spectral

    spectral Newbie

    Not from a GBA cart, which is what most people have. To play them without the emulator you need either one of the old GBC flash carts or a F2A with GB Bridge.
     
  8. 111111111

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    ah, I never bothered with gbc stuff on gba and I still had my old bung gb cart/xchanger at the time so didn't realise you couldn't use a gba flash cart to play them.
     
  9. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    The DS also does not run GB/GBC games natively.
     

Share This Page