How to know if your TV will go black and white?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Marticuno, Mar 15, 2008.

Mar 15, 2008
  1. Marticuno
    OP

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    The situation is, a PAL Wii chipped with Wiinja, backuped freeloader PAL, and NTSC-U Brawl ORIGINAL.

    How do I know if my tv will stay in color or go black and white? My tv is kinda old.
     
  2. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you don't have rgb support on your tv it will display in black and white, one of your scart sockets will say "rgb" on top of it if you do have rgb support.
     
  3. Youkai

    Member Youkai Demon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Germany , NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    look at the backside of the tv there should somewhere be some text and there it should at least let you see if it supports 60hz

    (at least all of the 3 tv's i have here have that lable on the left side at the backside)


    /// not sure if it has something to do with the herz but still many ppl were talking about that as well so ...
     
  4. Marticuno
    OP

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Thanks!
    This that that you said made me google and I found some kind of manual for the TV.

    It says:
    Receiving systems:
    PAL I/PAL -525/60
    M.NTSC
    NTSC AV only
     
  5. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  6. Marticuno
    OP

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Thanks alot, but alot of people were saying they got reddish screens with the RGB-cable?
     
  7. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are you talking about the freeloader problem? it's not your tv it's the freeloader software it needs to enable support for rgb display.
     
  8. Marticuno
    OP

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    So if I want to play brawl original with the backup of the freeloader I just have to wait? [​IMG]
    Or play it in black and white...
     
  9. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    You could change your wii settings to 50hz? :| (or is the free loader forcing it to 60hz?)
    also my tv should be black & white, but it isn't for some reason. maybe it it's the modchip doing something. atleast ntsc dvds are black&white. dunno.
     
  10. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    If Brawl works on 50 Mhz, you'll be fine. Still, someone better confirms it first.
     
  11. Marticuno
    OP

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    I'm hoping you meant 50Hz, not MHz (that's alot of pictures in a second) [​IMG]

    I don't think it works on 50Hz, think I saw someone say that.... Can anyone be nice and confirm?
     
  12. Marticuno
    OP

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Bump for joy and giggles.

    Another question as well:
    How does SSBB NTSC-U backup show colors but not original with freeloader? :S
    I'm confused.

    Please answer [​IMG]
     
  13. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sigh. RGB cables come with your damn Wii. Stop bullshitting about buying RGB cables

    Brawl works in 50Hz, but either the screen will be cut off, or the game will run slowly, or choppy. It's best if you have a TV that does 60Hz. I can't speak for 480p, as I din't have component cables.
     
  14. Bruinbaard

    Member Bruinbaard GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Or you just wait for the Pal version(which is an opinion i know I will get flamed for but I'm out of dvd's at the moment and never had dual layer dvd's (though my dvd's will be here earlier than the pal release [​IMG] ))
     
  15. Marticuno
    OP

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Well yeah my TV supports 60hz, but I'm just afraid it will be black and white?

    My situation is described in the first post, so can you confirm almost sure that it will run with color? My tv is not HD so no worries about 480P ^^
     

Share This Page