How to install AKAIO 1.6 RC2?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Juicii, Mar 26, 2010.

Mar 26, 2010

How to install AKAIO 1.6 RC2? by Juicii at 12:27 AM (3,997 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Juicii
    OP

    Newcomer Juicii Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded it, and all I got was an nds file.

    I just got this flashcart, so I dunno what to do.
     
  2. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have your computer set to read hidden files? Try that. But there should also be a folder in there with all the firmware stuff. Just copy/paste everything from the rar file you downloaded to the root of your card. I'm pretty sure you can just swap out the loaders instead.
     
  3. Juicii
    OP

    Newcomer Juicii Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Right now I have nothing on my Micro SD card. I just formatted it Fat32.

    I just got my flashcart today, but I don't know how to set up the MicroSD.

    Can you help me set it up?

    P.S. I'm using a DS Lite, not a DSi if that's any help.
     
  4. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I always though WinRAR showed hidden files, if they're even hidden.

    Your SD card should be fine as it is right now.

    Download 1.6 RC2 here.

    Drag/drop the _aio and akmenu4.nds files to the root of your SD card. You don't need the .txt files, they're just the change log and readme.

    Download games from wherever (don't ask for links, it's against the rules!)

    Put the games wherever. A "Games" folder is the most organized thing to do.

    As of now, pretty much every game works, so no need to use funky booting methods or whatever.

    Enjoy!
     
  5. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    There is nothing hidden in the akaio rar at all so that shouldn't even be the case.
     
  6. Juicii
    OP

    Newcomer Juicii Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you! Do I need to download the official firmware at all?
     
  7. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
  8. Xoo00o0o0o

    Member Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
  9. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You are replacing the offical firmware with something better.
     
  10. L551

    Member L551 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    Format your MicroSD card with the Panasonic SD formatter if you have not done so already. The windows formatter is not meant for MicroSD.

    http://filetrip.net/file.php?id=6027

    Then, download the latest akAIO (1.6 RC2) here

    http://normmatt.com/forum/download/file.php?id=75

    Extract the RAR, and inside yous should find akmenu4.nds, and a folder "_aio"

    Put both the "akmenu4.nds" and "_aio" folders onto the MicroSD.

    Wait for the copying to finish, then eject the microSD and put it in your Acekard.

    Would help to know what Acekard you bought, and whether or not it has a chip sticking out from the sticker.

    If you got an Acekard 2.1, it may not work correctly, as there is a problem with them currently. If it is a clone, you will get a message stating so.

    To put games, create a "Games" folder on the MicroSD, and put them in there. You will have to find said games on your own.

    EDIT: Damn me and my slow typing
     
  11. Juicii
    OP

    Newcomer Juicii Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks everyone for the help.

    oh and I have an Acekard 2i bought from RHS
     
  12. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    probably one of their actel chipped clones. they are knowingly selling them. they said to one person i talked to that they "don't see a diference." lol.

    silly RHS.

    -another world
     
  13. 5%

    Member 5% GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Country:
    Are there any cons to using the windows formatter? I've been using it for quite a while now, not knowing it wasn't meant for MicroSD's
     
  14. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AFAIK - Not really - I've heard that the Windows Formatter doesn't "do it to the correct standards" - & sometimes because of this files can get corrupted by flashcards saving etc. I've never had any trouble at all until I swapped to the panasonic one just to be safe
     
  15. 5%

    Member 5% GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Country:
    Thanks. I'll be reformatting with the Panasonic SD formatter, to be on the safe side of things too [​IMG]
     
  16. 5%

    Member 5% GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Country:
    So there's no need to update the loaders?
     

Share This Page