Tutorial [HOW-TO] Have a homemade Streetpass Relay

What method you are using?

  • Linux

    Votes: 93 7.9%
  • Android

    Votes: 133 11.4%
  • Router

    Votes: 226 19.3%
  • Windows

    Votes: 426 36.4%
  • A pony with a wifi antenna O.o?

    Votes: 292 25.0%

  • Total voters
    1,170
Status
Not open for further replies.

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Hi Duke,

I seem to have the same problem as segasaturn earlier.
Could this be the reason as you forgot to set the default name to attwifi?


You're looking into a windows script trying to solve router issue ;)
The new version of the script sets the ssid, but only for the MACs which ssid is known, otherwise it will set the ssid set in WEB GUI, well it should do that.
Please tell me what SSID is configured in DD-WRT web gui and give me the output for

nvram show | grep ssid

It is possible that DD-WRT treats nvram values a little different so the default SSID i'm using is not the one set in the WEB GUI.
 

Rangnarok

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
42
Trophies
1
XP
328
Country
Thanks Duke for the quick reply.

My router is the Netgear WNDR3700 running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std - build 21061

It has Dual band.
5rt_vn is the normal 2.4Ghz
5rt-vn-5g is the 5Ghz.

My phones are using the 5gHz ones, so I don't mind any changes made to the 2.4Ghz to do Homepass. Both bands are on at the moment.

This is what I've tested. Reboot the router > run (wget etc) > run grep ssid

Code:
size: 37395 bytes (28141 left)
ath0.3_ssid=
ping_ip=nvram show | grep ssid
ath0.1_ssid=attwifi
wl0_ssid=dd-wrt
ath1_ssid=5rt_vn-5g
rc_startup=echo -e "#!/bin/sh
WLINT=$(nvram get wl0_ifname)
WLMAC=$(nvram get wl0_hwaddr)
WLSSID=$(nvram get wl0_ssid)
JOBS=$(nvram get cron_jobs)
HOSTAPDCONF=/tmp/${WLINT}_hostap.conf
HOSTAPDPID=/var/run/${WLINT}_hostapd.pid
PS="ps"
UR
=http://nintendozone.no-ip.org?
MACS=/tmp/${0##*/}.macs
SPDELAY=480
MACNUM=0
setwl (){
    ifconfig $WLINT down
    ifconfig $WLINT hw ether $1 up
    sed -ri "s/^bssid=.*/bssid=$1/;s/^ssid=.*/ssid=$2/" $HOSTAPDCONF
    while ! hostapd -B -P $HOS
APDPID $HOSTAPDCONF; do
        PID=$($PS | grep $HOSTAPDPID | grep -v grep | sed 's/^ *//' | cut -d ' ' -f 1)
        : ${PID:+$(kill $PID)}
        sleep 1
    done
}
case "$1" in
start)
    if [ -z $2 ]; then
        nvram set cron_jobs="$(echo "$JOBS" |
sed -r s:#*\(.*$0.*\):\\1:)"
    else
        nvram set cron_jobs="$(echo "$JOBS" | grep -v $1 | sed "\$a* * * * * root $0 $2")"
    fi
;;
stop)
    setwl $WLMAC $WLSSID
    nvram set cron_jobs="$(echo "$JOBS" | sed -r s:#*\(.*$0.*\):
\\1:)"
;;
toggle)
    if echo "$JOBS" | grep $0 | grep -qe '^#'; then
        $0 start
    else
        $0 stop
    fi
;;
restart)
    $0 stop
    $0 start
;;
*)
    [ -f $MACS ] && MACNUM=$(grep -v ^x $MACS | wc -l) && DELAY=$((($(date +%s)-$(date -r
$MACS +%s))/60))
    [ $MACNUM = 0 ] && NEWMACS=$(wget -q -O - $URL$1)
    [ $(echo -n "$NEWMACS" | wc -c) != 0 ] && echo "$NEWMACS" > $MACS && MACNUM=$(cat $MACS | wc -l)
    [ $MACNUM = 0 ] && sed -ri "s/^x//" $MACS && MACNUM=$(grep -v
x $MACS | wc -l)
    MACTOTAL=$(cat $MACS | wc -l)
    [ $MACNUM = 0 ] || ([ $MACTOTAL -lt $SPDELAY ] && [ ${DELAY:-$SPDELAY} -lt $(($SPDELAY/$MACTOTAL)) ]) && exit
    RANDOM=$(head /dev/urandom | hexdump -d | head -n 1 | sed -r "s/^([0-9]+ +0{
,4})+//")
    MAC=$(grep -v ^x $MACS | head -n $(($RANDOM%${MACNUM}+1)) | tail -n 1)
    sed -ri "s/^$MAC/x&/" $MACS
    SSID=$(echo $MAC | cut -d , -f 2 -s)
    MAC=$(echo $MAC | cut -d , -f 1)
    : ${SSID:=$WLSSID}
    setwl $MAC $SSID
;;
es
c
stopservice cron
startservice cron
" > /tmp/nzone; mkdir -p /tmp/etc/config; echo -e "#!/bin/sh
/tmp/nzone toggle
" > /tmp/etc/config/nzone.sesbutton; chmod +x /tmp/nzone /tmp/etc/config/nzone.sesbutton
ath0.2_ssid=dd-wrt_vap
ath0_ssid=5rt_vn

After this, my phone and the 3DS both couldn't find attwifi anymore.
Also, first the original 5rt_vn for 2.4Ghz band is there, but it changes to dd-wrt after a while. You mentioned this is normal in the new version when the SSID is not known for a MAC, but I don't know why I can't find a trace of attwifi anywhere.

Thanks again for looking into this.
 

fradis

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
156
Country
Seychelles
Hello! Sorry to bother with a question...
Where can I find the list of macs and ssids people is using?
Thank you!

PD:Sorry about my bad english.
 

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Hello! Sorry to bother with a question...
Where can I find the list of macs and ssids people is using?
Thank you!
PD:Sorry about my bad english.

You can find the way not to worry of which exactly MAC/SSID is used and just get it working, folow the link Before anything else.

Thanks Duke for the quick reply.
My router is the Netgear WNDR3700 running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std - build 21061
It has Dual band.

That's what we should start with. I have not tested the script with a dualband router, nether anyore has reported the script is working or not on it. Let's go to PM it will take a while to adopt the script.
 

RapierDragon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
61
Country
Canada
!! REMINDER !!

make sure to CHANGE your mii's shirt color BEFORE visiting the MACs for a specific shirt color.

Lately it seems I get mii with every color except pink from the pink-shirt MACs. Other shirt-color MACs are doing more or less bad depending on a color's overall popularity. (i.e. red seems very popular, so its easy to get red in the red-shirt MACs. Less-popular colors like pink and brown have pretty much become impossible to get even when you visit a MAC for that specific shirt color.)

So okay, Iget that everyone had to repopulate their mii data and whatnot, but its been OVER A WEEK now, and no one is giving a damn about the specific shirt-color MACs

So, once again, here is the list of what MACs are for what mii-shirt-color:

4E:53:50:4F:43:XX

where xx is --- and the MACs are for this color mii-shirt

00 to 0F -- RED
10 to 1F -- ORANGE
20 to 2F -- YELLOW
30 to 3F -- LIGHT GREEN
40 to 4F -- GREEN
50 to 5F -- BLUE
60 to 6F -- LIGHT BLUE
70 to 7F -- PINK
80 to 8F -- PURPLE
90 to 9F -- BROWN
A0 to AF -- WHITE
B0 to BF -- BLACK


for RANDOM shirt-color mii, use the main MAC of 4E:53:50:4F:4F:46
 

masterzero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
624
Trophies
0
XP
492
Country
Sooo , being in europe , can I still use attwifi and the old macs like before ? or I need to use the Mcdonalds sid or whatever?
 

Koldur

Virtual Boy Ambassador
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
294
Trophies
1
XP
1,548
Country
Netherlands
so if I use password I needto changei t to mcdonalds ? I use my wifi repeater as the relay and I can't leave it opened :(


Yes, then you do, but it is no problem since it works perfectly fine with it! Just use NZ@McD1 and you are good to go!
 

shadyblack

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Death Valley Junction, California
XP
63
Country
Managed to get it work. My only issue is, since i am a Gateway user, you need to format your emunand first. I am currently on Gateway 2.4B. I am getting streetpasses now using MACPASS 2.0 and Virtual Router Manager using NZ@McD1 SSID and with password(nintendozone), OS WIN7. Thanks guyz :D
 

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
I am getting streetpasses now using MACPASS 2.0 and Virtual Router Manager using NZ@McD1 SSID and with password(nintendozone), OS WIN7. Thanks guyz :D
You don't need all those stuff if you followed "Before trying anything else" on the first post.
 

[Truth]

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
1,057
Trophies
1
Location
Mushroom Kingdom
XP
2,380
Country
Germany
Hey duke, can you explain again where to put the timewindow for macchanges?
I want it to be from 2-8 AM.
Is this DD-WRT cron job correct?
Code:
* * 2-8 * * root /tmp/nzone BASE16,GBATEMP
 

Edgarska

Conjurer of cheap tricks
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
797
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
2,084
Country
United States
I have everything set up exactly as in the tutorial, and it used to work before, but now, while I get internet access on the 3DS, it's not being recognized as a relay point. Is there anything obvious I'm missing? Using Windows 7.
 

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
I have everything set up exactly as in the tutorial, and it used to work before, but now, while I get internet access on the 3DS, it's not being recognized as a relay point. Is there anything obvious I'm missing? Using Windows 7.
With the firmware 9 Nintendo made several changes with the spotpass, attwifi no more working for streetpasd if password protected. Just follow the "before trying anything else" link and follow the recipe, it is already updated.
 

Edgarska

Conjurer of cheap tricks
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
797
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
2,084
Country
United States
With the firmware 9 Nintendo made several changes with the spotpass, attwifi no more working for streetpasd if password protected. Just follow the "before trying anything else" link and follow the recipe, it is already updated.
I missed that part, will try it, thanks.

Edit: I tried the link and it still only counts as a regular hotspot. Is there a guide that follows the new way to do it from the beginning?

Edit edit: Actually, never mind, I just remembered this computer has had networking issues for a while, I'll try on a different one.
 

xljj42

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 21, 2014
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
51
Country
United States
Hello!

I am running the nzone.vbs script and it worked wonderfully two days ago, but I am now no longer receiving any street passes. It's currently running and my 3DS detects a nearby nintendozone, but nothing is happening. What can I do to reset/restart the service? Or what information do I need to provide to you to find out more?

Thanks!
 

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Hello!
I am running the nzone.vbs script and it worked wonderfully two days ago, but I am now no longer receiving any street passes. It's currently running and my 3DS detects a nearby nintendozone, but nothing is happening. What can I do to reset/restart the service? Or what information do I need to provide to you to find out more?
Thanks!

What MAC lists are you using?
First, you can remove nzone.macs file, it must be recreated automatically - that means script is working and updating MAC addresses.
 

Queno138

Ravens
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
2,425
Trophies
0
Location
Luigi's Dark Mansion
XP
1,070
Country
Senegal
!! REMINDER !!

make sure to CHANGE your mii's shirt color BEFORE visiting the MACs for a specific shirt color.

Lately it seems I get mii with every color except pink from the pink-shirt MACs. Other shirt-color MACs are doing more or less bad depending on a color's overall popularity. (i.e. red seems very popular, so its easy to get red in the red-shirt MACs. Less-popular colors like pink and brown have pretty much become impossible to get even when you visit a MAC for that specific shirt color.)

So okay, Iget that everyone had to repopulate their mii data and whatnot, but its been OVER A WEEK now, and no one is giving a damn about the specific shirt-color MACs

So, once again, here is the list of what MACs are for what mii-shirt-color:

4E:53:50:4F:43:XX

where xx is --- and the MACs are for this color mii-shirt

00 to 0F -- RED
10 to 1F -- ORANGE
20 to 2F -- YELLOW
30 to 3F -- LIGHT GREEN
40 to 4F -- GREEN
50 to 5F -- BLUE
60 to 6F -- LIGHT BLUE
70 to 7F -- PINK
80 to 8F -- PURPLE
90 to 9F -- BROWN
A0 to AF -- WHITE
B0 to BF -- BLACK


for RANDOM shirt-color mii, use the main MAC of 4E:53:50:4F:4F:46

Why have i never seen this before!
it's a tender rain brilliant system!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @SylverReZ, new pfp?