Tutorial  Updated

How to Create/Edit .tga Files for Haxchi

(You guys, feel free to post your .tga files you make for others)

I am making this guide due to the fact that it took me a few hours of googling to figure out how to make a custom Haxchi tga file work and haven't seen or found a guide.


DISCLAIMER:
IF STEPS AREN'T FOLLOWED, YOUR HAXCHI WILL APPEAR AS A BOX WITH "???" AND SAY THE FILE IS CORRUPT.
THIS CAN BE EASILY FIXED BY EITHER: REPLACING THE ORIGINAL TGA FILE OR CORRECTLY EDITING THE TGA FILE.
THEN RE-RUN THE HAXCHI INSTALLER AND IT WILL FIX IT BACK
SO IF YOU DON'T HAVE A ALTERNATIVE METHOD OF OPENING THE HOMEBREW MENU, THEN DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK.


I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR MISTAKES

---Don't Repost Anywhere Else Without Permission Please---


How to in GIFs by DonnieV:
(Do everything in GIMP with TgaVerifier, without Paint/HexEditor)
For the Boot Tv and Boot Drc you need to merge all layers to one and disable alpha/transparency
kQSoKP3.gif

For the Icon Tex you need to merge all layers to one and enable alpha/transparency
zT1pK2u.gif

Export as TGA and disable RLE compression.
2kysJQn.gif

Place the TgaVerify script by @Zarklord into your meta folder and run it.
5ERtUS0.gif

Proof
RUYPShW.png

Or for people who like to do it manually:

Things you will need:

-First a Photo Editor; Optional:

Note: You can just use Paint.net instead of these editors
  • GIMP 2 (freeware similar to Photoshop)(Advanced)​
  • Photoshop (Not Free)(Advanced)​
Then Download:
  • Paint.net (used to save the file as a .tga)(Intermediate)​
  • HxD hex editor (any other hex editor will work)​
Parameters:
  • bootDrcTex.tga : needs to be 854x480, uses 24 bits, uncompressed (Tablet Image)​
  • bootTvTex.tga : needs to be 1280x720, uses 24 bits, uncompressed (TV Image)​
  • iconTex.tga : needs to be 128x128, uses 32 bits, uncompressed (App Image)​
Has to be at the end of the Hex for the tga
  • 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 54 52 55 45 56 49 53 49 4F 4E 2D 58 46 49 4C 45 2E 00 00 00 00 00​
How to Edit/Create the tga Files:
  1. Make a BackUp of the original file if editing​
  2. Open the file you are wanting to edit/create (I used GIMP 2 and iconTex.tga file)​
  3. Edit/Create your iconTex.tga to your liking, minding the parameters required above​
  4. Save your image as iconTex.tga or which ever file you chose​
(If your using paint.net then use the parameters above for each corresponding file or look below.)

Next:​
  1. Open up your newly edited/made iconTex.tga​
  2. Then just save as​
  3. Select .tga​
  4. Check the box for either: 32 or 24 bits (refer back to parameters for that file)​
  5. Check Uncompressed​
  6. Save​
Then:​
  1. Open HxD or your preferred hex editor​
  2. Open your newly formatted iconTex.tga you made with paint.net​
  3. Scroll to the bottom​
  4. Copy 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 54 52 55 45 56 49 53 49 4F 4E 2D 58 46 49 4C 45 2E 00 00 00 00 00 to your clipboard​
  5. Select edit tab, and select "paste insert"​
  6. Before​
  7. image2_Easy-Resize.com.jpg
  8. After​
  9. image3_Easy-Resize.com.jpg
  10. Save​
  11. Viola Your done​
  12. Throw the iconTex.tga into Haxchi Folder and run the Haxchi Installer​
My Own Custom iconTex.tga
image4_Easy-Resize.com.jpg image5_Easy-Resize.com.jpg

Made this for my friend so she can just click Haxchi and have it automatically load up Mocha+FSHax. (avoid her messing with the homebrew channel, basically child locked it and she doesn't know the button config to launch it) I wanted a image to represent what i had done. So i threw together this little image.​
 
Last edited by Dakota Nix,

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
12,791
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
16,548
Country
United States

Dakota Nix

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
143
Country
United States
I'll test it when I get off work, but downloaded it to my phone. I'll let you know if it worked. Do I just reinstall haxchi or how do I do this?

Make sure you have the haxchi folder on the root of you SD card. Then have the haxchi installer elf in the app folder. Then load up the haxchi installer and proceed to install. You can also change the name inside the text file for the app to.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Rngr

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 22, 2017
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
109
Country
Canada
Here are graphics that I created for Haxchi icons and load screens. Attached at the bottom of this post are the files you can place in your Haxchi folder on the root of your SD card to get some cool looking images! They all work, I've tested and use it myself. Enjoy!

iconTex.jpg



bootDrcTex.jpg


bootTvTex.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Nintendo Haxchi Replacement Graphics.zip
    1.9 MB · Views: 597

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
12,791
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
16,548
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: Rngr

Dakota Nix

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
143
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: Rngr
D

Deleted User

Guest
  • Like
Reactions: Rngr

milhousevanhouten

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
192
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
117
Country
Netherlands
can you show me a screenshot cause I think I did it right but it doesn't change anything I used gimp

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

nvm probally need paint.net to change the bit range
 

Dakota Nix

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
143
Country
United States
Nice tutorial. Though if you are already using GIMP to edit the file, you don't need paint.NET to save it as tga.
Also you can skip the hex editing if you use the python script located in this thread: https://gbatemp.net/threads/tgaverifiy-a-tga-verifier.450997/
I see that it allows .tga file type, but does it allow the changing of the bits? i checked export as, then .tga, but didn't show anything about the bits. if you can show me then i'll gradly update the guide.

Edit: So basically your saying you can save your image in GIMP as a .Tga, then run that script to automatically convert to the bit and add the hex?
 
Last edited by Dakota Nix,

DonnieV

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
79
Country
United States
Yeah you just make sure you disable the alpha channel (transparency) if it's the TV/DRC background and enable it if it's the boot icon. Choose export as TGA in GIMP, and a pop-up should ask if you want RLE compression and you disable it.
Then you run that Python script in same folder as your TGA files and it will edit the bits for you, as well as tell you if you forgot to disable/enable the alpha channel or if you forgot to disable compression.
Once you go back and fix them in case you forgot, run it again and it will say "all TGA's verified".
I've used this script for editing haxchi numerous times, as well as all of my virtual console game's meta files in loadiine.
I'll record a quick thing of me doing it right now.
 
Last edited by DonnieV,
  • Like
Reactions: Dakota Nix

Dakota Nix

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
143
Country
United States
Yeah you just make sure you disable the alpha channel (transparency) if it's the TV/DRC background and enable it if it's the boot icon. Choose export as TGA in GIMP, and a pop-up should ask if you want RLE compression and you disable it.
Then you run that Python script in same folder as your TGA files and it will edit the bits for you, as well as tell you if you forgot to disable/enable the alpha channel or if you forgot to disable compression.
Once you go back and fix them in case you forgot, run it again and it will say "all TGA's verified".
I've used this script for editing haxchi numerous times, as well as all of my virtual console game's meta files in loadiine.
I'll record a quick thing of me doing it right now.
I just added our posts toward the top of the guide. Thanks for simplifying it down
 

DonnieV

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
79
Country
United States
For the Boot Tv and Boot Drc you need to merge all layers to one and disable alpha/transparency
kQSoKP3.gif

For the Icon Tex you need to merge all layers to one and enable alpha/transparency
zT1pK2u.gif

Export as TGA and disable RLE compression.
2kysJQn.gif

Place the TgaVerify script by @Zarklord into your meta folder and run it.
5ERtUS0.gif

Proof
RUYPShW.png
 
Last edited by DonnieV,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Leave
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'm fortunate to have had some managers over the years who I've straight up told to go fuck themselves, and not get in trouble for it. Help that I've been on the receiving end of that as well lmao
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Agreed, you can tell him you quit when you see him in court, (For defecation on property, charges)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    There's a difference in a abusive management rather than one drilling into you for messing up
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Told my last boss that I was resigning and he was confused and asked if I was serious 😭🤣
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My last boss got investigated for racial slurs and guess what happened to him
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I luckily haven't had a boss in over 20 years, (independent contractor) but the people I do work for, it's pretty much like they my bosses, and yea some can be assholes. But there has been many jobs I've walked off and mailed they're checks back to them.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Bosses should yell at workers for mess ups they just need to know the difference in abuse and punishment
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I don't abuse or curse at my employess, I feel like waving the gun around gets the point across just fine.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    A boss is basically a glorified baby sitter
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I respect one's that tells someone what to do clearly, warn them when they mess up and actually put work in with a crew
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    That's how all of my last managers have been in this job and my last one. Last time I had a manager where I was being micromanaged to hell and back was over a decade ago when I worked retail
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    My managers nowadays are perfectly fine assigning me a project and just checking in once every week or two
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I had to micromanage the managers
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    At my last job I (as an individual contributor, not a manager or supervisor or anything) used to be the one to tell my manager when I was traveling for work "hey I'm gonna be out of office between x and y dates, I got something on the other side of the country I'm gonna go work on"
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Which was not the normal dynamic for that role lmao
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Don't get to travel for my current job :(
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Had me started working 10 days in a row with different days off after that I was like no
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    On the bright side, I also don't even have to leave my house for my current job, so... could be worse
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some of the shift workers were so bad it held us up from 10pm to 10am
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    coming to the painful realization backing up my ps2's hdd to swap in a sata ssd, i need a faster more modern way to interface with old ide hard drives than using hdlgmanclient or ftp over network.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    NIC is only 10/100 right?
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    that was fast in they year 2000
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i have three network adapters 2 standard us ones with the ethernet and phone jack and one slimmer Japanese one with just a ethernet port. not sure if one would be faster than the other. i installed a sata adapter thing i got off temu for 3 dollars in the Japanese one thought, was surprised it actually works. but considering i got 18 games to go, gonna be a two day endeavor at this point.
    wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist: i have three network adapters 2 standard us ones with the ethernet and phone jack and one...