How do you make a USB drive say it is X GB big?

Extreme Coder

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
937
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Cairo, Egypt
Website
Visit site
XP
356
Country
Egypt
Hi,
As the topic title says.
For example,
I have a 2 GB USB drive, I want when somebody connects it and sees how big is it(like Right-clicking then Properties for example), it will say it is 6 GB.
Is that possible?
I heard eBay scammers do it
ph34r.gif
But I tell you, I'm no scammer
wink2.gif
I just want to make a joke on a friend of mine
laugh.gif



Thanks!
 

Nero

GBAtemp RPG Maniac
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,915
Trophies
0
Age
14
Website
Visit site
XP
320
Country
United States
When I read the title of the thread, I was sure you were trying to pull one on somebody.
laugh.gif

I guess it was a bad assumption.

Sorry, but I can't answer your question. Just wanted to get that out in the air.
biggrin.gif


~Nero
 

BigX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
292
Trophies
0
Location
over there
Website
Visit site
XP
70
Country
Canada
of course this can be done. you just have to reprogramm the controller chip with your professional flash tools.

sry. this is not possible software wise and thus not for the average user.
 

Javacat

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
323
Trophies
1
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country
You could try using the Alcor Au6980 LLF Tool. It may or may not work with your particular memory card
tongue.gif
The software is in Chinese and you'll have to pull out your googling skillz to find it.
 

Mangofett

GBAtemp Testing Area
Member
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
4,885
Trophies
1
Age
19
XP
1,060
Country
United States
QUOTE said:
its possible software wise
Well you don't need to offer a how-to, but on what level do you enter that?
write an own driver?
Service for this special device?
how should you know how this could be done?
Something that can edit partition tables, like some hard drive reformatter disks, but only heavily modified and having you know what you're doing.
 

Javacat

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
323
Trophies
1
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country

fischju

Rehabilitated Jaywalker
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
1,937
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
54
Country
United States
Get the boot sector of the same size that you want it to say, and use one of the many tools to apply it to the one you want to change?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @a_username_that_isnt_cool, could you change your username?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i guess not...
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    yawn
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    anybody here?
  • P @ PKNate:
    nope
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    fun fact: 7 years by lukas graham, supermassive black hole by muse, and megalomania all have the same bpm
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    girls just wanna have fun and renai circulation also share the same tempo as the few i said before
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BakerMan, megalomania the live a live song?
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    wait no, megalovania*
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    my bad
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I don't forgive you
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    The nerve of that guy, gosh.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah expecting me to forgive gtfo
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    But how could the Dr have known you didn't want to be circumcized?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He didn't you just wanted your dick to be fondled
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Watching dune 2 it's eh
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Dune one sucked
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The original with Patrick Stewart was Great
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    A sexual psycopath that love pain where have I heard that before
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    In your high school diary?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No but your wife let's me read her diary the word psychopath comes up more than sexual
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol stremio hogging all of my tvs on board ram
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Lol stremio hogging all of my tvs on board ram