Hacking How do I setup a bonus drive on my N3DS XL?

Kubas_inko

"Something funny goes here."
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
6,317
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
I gues on earth.
XP
4,964
Country
Czech Republic
  • 8: BONUS DRIVE / IMGNAND TWLN: This provides access to the bonus drive on SysNAND. The bonus drive can be setup via the HOME menu on 3DS consoles that provide the space for it. When a NAND image is mounted, this provides access to the mounted NAND image's TWLN.
 

Sonansune

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
3,730
Trophies
1
XP
2,079
Country
Canada
it's possible only if your 3ds nand chip is the 1.8gb model....

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

My NAND is 1.2GB. I have a N3ds XL. How do I get a bigger NAND? I think I need a NAND bigger than that.
seriously???? getting bigger NAND??? do you have any idea about what you said?
 

adrifcastr

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
2,038
Trophies
0
XP
1,947
Country
Germany
it's possible only if your 3ds nand chip is the 1.8gb model....

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


seriously???? getting bigger NAND??? do you have any idea about what you said?
Desolder the mainboard, get a new one, solder /screw it back in, depending on how the mainboard is on the 3DS,
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,042
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,311
Country
Norway
My NAND is 1.2GB. I have a N3ds XL. How do I get a bigger NAND? I think I need a NAND bigger than that.
Without replacing your mainboard?
You'd have to desolder the CPU and NAND and solder in ones from another console (the NAND and CPU are tied together so you can't replace jist one)
I know of someone who has done it (it was their way to create a legit (non region changed) US small n3DS before they were officially released in US), and even though they are good at soldering and used every trick in the book they still had to get professional help to get them soldered on, which also cost money. Probably not something you'll be able to do. Getting them off is the easy part.
And replacing the mainboard is probably not worth it for 600MB extra space you can't really use for anything other than file storage when you could just get a bigger SD card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TCJJ and MrMcTiller

MrJason005

√2
Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
2,521
Trophies
0
Location
Κάπου
XP
1,584
Country
Greece
tenor82210d0aa99d3773.gif


OP, If you want to install CIAs to your NAND, your best bet is probably a h&s injection (which works for small CIAs only). Even 3DSes with pre-installed games on them don't have the game on the NAND, it's on the included SD card.
 

MrMcTiller

GBATemp's Tiller
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,180
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Iowa
XP
1,406
Country
United States
Without replacing your mainboard?
You'd have to desolder the CPU and NAND and solder in ones from another console (the NAND and CPU are tied together so you can't replace jist one)
I know of someone who has done it (it was their way to create a legit (non region changed) US small n3DS before they were officially released in US), and even though they are good at soldering and used every trick in the book they still had to get professional help to get them soldered on, which also cost money. Probably not something you'll be able to do. Getting them off is the easy part.
And replacing the mainboard is probably not worth it for 600MB extra space you can't really use for anything other than file storage when you could just get a bigger SD card.
OK, I won't do that then. But why is it that some 3ds consoles have bigger NANDs?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Nevermind, I found that the Toshiba NAND is bigger than the Samsung NAND
 

MrMcTiller

GBATemp's Tiller
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,180
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Iowa
XP
1,406
Country
United States
or buy a larger SD card and save a lot of money and headaches
Well..... I guess I could buy a 200GB microSD and format it to FAT32.

EDIT: Maybe even 256GB

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I'm confused on so many levels by this. What would you use that extra 600MB for???
I could use it to store some of my roms. (GBA, GB, GBC, NES, etc.) Possible even store some important things. (Passwords, etc.)
 
Last edited by MrMcTiller,

Kubas_inko

"Something funny goes here."
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
6,317
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
I gues on earth.
XP
4,964
Country
Czech Republic
Well..... I guess I could buy a 200GB microSD and format it to FAT32.

EDIT: Maybe even 256GB

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


I could use it to store some of my roms. (GBA, GB, GBC, NES, etc.) Possible even store some important things. (Passwords, etc.)
Or you can just store them in normal SySNAND?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Everyone should eat a cookie.