1. RetroVerso

    OP RetroVerso Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    Hey everyone, even though my switch is hacked for a long time I'm still having trouble sometimes when I mess around with the files.
    This time, I'd like to upgrade my micro SD card. I currently have a 32gb micro SD card (I'll just say sd from now on so it's not repetitive) and I bought a 256gb sd. The 32gb is formatted in fat32 and don't have any partitions, I always play on cfw sysnand (I'm banned but I don't really care).
    I saw some videos saying that I need to make a partition for the emummc on the 32gb and migrate that partition to the 256gb, but I just don't have any space left, even without the games.
    Is there an other option? I don't even know if I need to format the 256gb sd in fat32 or not.
    I simply copied and pasted the 32gb in the 256gb but when I try to launch either cfw sysnand or cfw emummc it doesn't boot (I see the sept logo for a brief amount of time and then a black screen).
     
  2. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,008
    Country:
    United States
    Format the 256GB to FAT32 via guiformat and then copy files over from the 32GB.
     
  3. yusuo

    yusuo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,324
    Country:
    United States
    It's as easy as copy and paste from old card to new
     
  4. RetroVerso

    OP RetroVerso Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    So I tried to do that, it took me a while
    But then when I tried to launch hekate it just said that I needed to update some libraries and the bootloader folder
     
    Last edited by RetroVerso, Jun 12, 2020
  5. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,008
    Country:
    United States
    Update your Hekate files if you are chainloading through Hekate.
     
  6. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,214
    Country:
    United States
    Using fusee-primary to launch the latest version of Atmosphere is recommended.
     
  7. RetroVerso

    OP RetroVerso Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    When I try to launch it with fusee (both rcm version and hekate version), it just gives me a black screen
    But I did managed to go past the Sept logo after choosing cfw sysnand, i can see the Nichole Mattera logo, but after waiting a while I got another black screen.
     
  8. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,214
    Country:
    United States
    As a matter of troubleshooting, do the following:
    1. Reformat your new SD card using guiformat. A quick format will be fine. Don't restore any old files or folders.
    2. Download the latest Atmosphere
    3. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
    4. Put Atmosphere onto your SD card
    5. Put the SD into your Switch
    6. Put the Switch into RCM
    7. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary
    What happens?
     
  9. RetroVerso

    OP RetroVerso Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    Before doing that I just want to talk about something.
    I tried to make a partition of 32gb in the 256gb sd card, and the switch could boot up just fine (when I tried doing that without the partition, sometimes the switch would boot up but a message would show up telling me that the data is corrupted). Is there a way to use the rest of the sd card to store the games? I wanna see if this works before doing the troubleshooting.
     
  10. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,214
    Country:
    United States
    Where did you get this SD card?
     
  11. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,008
    Country:
    United States
    Doing it fresh from scratch is what is recommended as your config doesn't boot correctly. Do what Lacius said.
     
    Lacius likes this.
  12. RetroVerso

    OP RetroVerso Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    I don't remember where I bought it, it surely was somewhere on the internet.
    I did get some errors when copying the files, but I didn't get any errors with the 32gb partition.

    I really want to see if there's a way to use the rest of the sd card, but since you insist I'm guessing it's not the case.
     
  13. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,214
    Country:
    United States
    My instructions above are for troubleshooting purposes, and I recommend you do them so we can eliminate variables. There is also no reason why we can't use the full SD card as one partition.

    I have a feeling your SD card might be fake, FYI.
     
    Idrolitina likes this.
  14. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,008
    Country:
    United States
    Test the card with H2testw first, 256GB card should leave you around 238 GB of actual space, so check that also. Brand of the card by the way?
    https://3ds.hacks.guide/h2testw-(windows).html
     
  15. TyTheTuber

    TyTheTuber Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, guiformat should should work.
     
  16. RetroVerso

    OP RetroVerso Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    Alright so I did the troubleshooting and everything is fine. The switch launched, I can see the available space and the console's informations do show me that I'm on 9.2.0, AMS 0.12.0 S.

    I'll try this later because I read somewhere that the process is very time consuming. I don't know if the card is branded or not, maybe it is but it doesn't look like it. It came with an micro sd to SD adapter, maybe this one is branded.
     
  17. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,008
    Country:
    United States
    When I said brand I meant the manufacturing brand, like Sandisk, Samsung. It is a good idea to know what brand of the SD card you have, possibly you have a fake if you ran into copy/formatting issue. Running the test with the card being blank would give you an idea if it is real or not, if it fake it will fail the test.
     
  18. RetroVerso

    OP RetroVerso Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    Yeah, no familiar names. No names at all in fact. Just a simple "microSD™ microSDHC™".
    I'm starting to think that it's fake, but who knows maybe it isn't and I will work just fine.
     
  19. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,008
    Country:
    United States
    How much you paid for the SD card? because Samsung / Sandisk one are like 50 dollars here in the US, so roughly 45 Euro.
     
  20. RetroVerso

    OP RetroVerso Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    I actually don't even remember. 45 euros sounds about right, but I don't know if it's the real price.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - upgrade, micro,