Homebrew apps won't start.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Randomguy, Apr 16, 2010.

Apr 16, 2010

Homebrew apps won't start. by Randomguy at 3:07 PM (5,526 Views / 0 Likes) 42 replies

  1. Randomguy
    OP

    Newcomer Randomguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't know if this is in the right forum, but i have a problem.
    My HBC doesn't load any homebrew anymore. [​IMG]
    When the loading bar is at 100%, and you think the app is going to start you see a black screen and you must hard reset.
    I've tried to wait till the icon in the right stops blinking, reinstalling the HBC and restore my wii already, but it doesn't work.
    Any ideas? [​IMG]
     


  2. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    reinstall ios36-v3351
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    mauifrog... i disagree, most poeple have a patched IOS36, and find it useful to keep it patched (reinstalling it will install a non-fakesigned version)

    Instead, the OP should reinstall IOS61, then reinstall the HBC (to ensure its running on IOS61)

    edit:@random guy, before doing anything else, can u do the following test? Start an app from the HBC, and wait for it to black screen... then instead of doing a hard reset, just tap the reset button (don't hold it)... I suspect it may return you to the HBC (if it does... that's not good, because then it sounds like a problem I had on 2 wii's and was only able to solve by doing a nand restore... fortunately, even if I wasn't able to solve this problem, u can get around it by using forwarder channels to apps and/or wiixplorer... just use bannerbomb to launch wad manager then install forwarder channels... but hopefully we can actually fix the problem)
     
  4. Randomguy
    OP

    Newcomer Randomguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've tried your test, and it goes back to the HBC. [​IMG]
     
  5. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    He can patch it if he likes. I bet he downgraded to ios36-v1042 = blackscreen HB apps.
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I have no idea what causes this problem (in fact, i think its the only wii problem i dont fully understand)... I would be VERY interested to find out what's causing this issue.

    I was certain I didn't downgrade IOS36... but it would be worth a try installing an updated version of it since mauifrog says that could fix u... please report back your results

    Also, do u have a nand backup of your wii and bootmii installed?
     
  7. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    It's most likely a problem with the app itself, not the HBC. I know emulators had the same issue sometime and it was related to DVDX/cIOS incompatibilities. Better check if that happen with all apps before deleting/patching anything.
     
  8. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    If its the same problem I had (which I believe it is), the problem happened with ALL apps, randomly... so the HBC still sometimes worked... but u would have to try launching the same app 10 times before maybe it would work once.

    At first i thought it was a problem with my sd card... but the card was fine, and I tried a couple others.
     
  9. Randomguy
    OP

    Newcomer Randomguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    To inform you all:
    Like XFlak said, it happens to ALL the apps, but ever since this happened, i couldn't not load any of the apps without a freeze.

    EDIT: I can't try to update the IOS36 rigt now... i'll try it as fast as i can! [​IMG]
     
  10. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Load dop-mii from HBC, if it black screens, bannerbomb it. If that black screens, use cboot2. Once it loads, use iso249 and install ios36-v3351 with all patches. Hopefully that will help.
     
  11. Shinigami Kiba

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    This exact thing happened to one of my friends as soon as I finished modding his Wii, sometimes his system loads apps, but most of the time you have to run an app like 10 times before it loads it.
    Worst of all his system can't install bootmii to boot2 so no NAND backup for him
     
  12. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    @Shinigami Kiba, even if he doesn't have bootmii as boot2, having a nand backup is important

    @randomguy, do what mauifrog said... bannerbomb should still work for you, so just place the boot.dol of whatever app u want 2 load in the root of your sd card and go nuts... I'm really curious if reinstalling IOS36 will help!
     
  13. Randomguy
    OP

    Newcomer Randomguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Finally!
    I've got the IOS36 upgraded (with fakesign, don't know if it matters).
    But i've tried it a couple of times and it still blackscreens...
    I did manage to load a app, tough.
     
  14. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Is your homebrew channel loading to a black screen, or the apps you load from HBC?

    Load dop-mii again, select scan the wii. Let the scan run, then post the cvs report here.
    Now if the scan freezes on an ios, you have an ios corruption. If this happens, reinstall the last ios scanned and the next lower ios- then run the scan again.

    If you reinstall your system ios, be sure not to install a stub.
     
  15. ploggy

    Member ploggy WAKA! WAKA!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    784
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This happens to me too, the only solution I have found is after you click on the app you want to load in the HBC, wait a few seconds, then click load.
    I dunno if it will work for you but it does for me. (not sure what causes it to act up though)
     
  16. Randomguy
    OP

    Newcomer Randomguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Okay, here is the cvs report:

    "DOP-Mii Report"
    "Region", Europe (E)
    "Hollywood Version", 0x11
    "Wii Unique DeviceID", 57826931

    IOS Version, FakeSign, ES_Identify, NAND, Flash
    "70 (v6687)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "61 (v5405)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "57 (v5661)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "56 (v5405)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "55 (v5406)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "53 (v5406)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "38 (v3867)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "37 (v3869)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "36 (v3351)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled
    "35 (v3349)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "34 (v3348)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "33 (v3091)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "31 (v3349)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "28 (v1550)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "22 (v1037)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "21 (v782)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "17 (v775)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "15 (v523)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "14 (v520)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "13 (v273)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "12 (v269)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "9 (v778)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
     
  17. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    OK, that looks just fine. You may wish to patch that ios70 like you did ios36, I would.

    As for the black screen, it is the apps that are loading to black screen correct? How do your apps load if you bannerbomb loadmii? Do they still black screen, or do they load?

    Do you have preloader/priiloader installed? What hacks do you have enabled? Is the ios set to system ios or ios70?
     
  18. Randomguy
    OP

    Newcomer Randomguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My apps do load from bannerbomb.
    In priiloader, the hacks block disc updates and block online updates are enabled.
    The IOS is set to IOS70.
     
  19. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    That is kinda of strange. It seems that from what you say your apps are working fine, but HBC is mucked up. When you load HBC, what ios is displayed? Ios61 or other?

    This is a shot in the dark, but I suggest you reinstall what ever ios is displayed in HBC- without patches, see if that changes anything. If it still fails download a fresh copy of Hackmii 0.6 and reinstall HBC.

    Hope that helps.
     
  20. Randomguy
    OP

    Newcomer Randomguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I reinstalled IOS61 and it worked a little! [​IMG]
    The black screens are still there, but they reduced a lot.
    Some apps still don't load tough, mostly the games.
     

Share This Page