HMs ran out!

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Lucifer666, Oct 19, 2012.

Oct 19, 2012

HMs ran out! by Lucifer666 at 2:26 PM (1,122 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Lucifer666
    OP

    Member Lucifer666 all the world needs is me

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    The Fourth Dimension
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Right, so I first played Pokemon Diamond and Pearl at launch. I decided I'd replay Diamond, so that's what I've been up to. I've progressed quite a bit, and am all the way up at Eterna city, teaching my Bidoof (HM slave) Cut, so I'd get into Team Galactic's building.

    All right, the weirdest thing just happened: After having taught Bidoof Cut, the HM ran out.

    Now, it's been a while since Gen IV, so I can't remember: Are HMs supposed to run out? As far I can remember, TMs are one-use, but HMs? I'm using a legit retail cart, so this is a bit of an issue.

    I do have an Action Replay, in fact I'm using it, but I don't have any codes affecting items or battling or whatever. They're all just game enhancements like text speed. This is strange. Can anyone explain what's going on, and how I can fix this?
     
  2. Arras

    Member Arras ★02

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,717
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What. I don't know why that would happen, but I do know it's not supposed to...
     
  3. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean "ran out"? Like in the bag it says
    HM01 x0
    HM02 x0
    TM35 x1
    ?

    It would have to be a rogue code causing this. It's not normal.
    Actually, I'm not sure if I remember HMs even having a counter?

    In battle, yes they have PP like everything else. They can still be used outside of battle with 0 PP.
     
  4. prectorian

    Newcomer prectorian Chef Kirby

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    I believe the problem lies with the pokemon you have, if there is/are no more pokemon in your party that can use that certain HM, then it will not be useable until you get another pokemon that can use the move. But if you do have other pokemon known able to use the HM but couldn't then....really as the others said....very strange indeed. HM can be use/teach for unlimited number of pokemon. TM is one time use but may be purchase again from poke center counters.
     
  5. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Try catching another pokemon that can learn cut
     
  6. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,651
    Country:
    United States
    I feel like the the answer to you problems is pretty simple, you just arent putting 2 and 2 together and understanding whats going on.

    Either that our your game created a serious(ly hilarious) glitch.
     
  7. beta4attack

    Member beta4attack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    The world that never was
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HMs shouldn't run out, only TMs should (until BW).
     
  8. Shiro09

    Member Shiro09 AAI2 Localisation Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    764
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah... That's not normal. I think you need to keep it with your Bidoof or start again without the AR. The HM running out is probably the result of an AR which alters your cart, that's probably why you no longer have the HM.
     
  9. Jiehfeng

    Member Jiehfeng The Moon over the Sun

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3,878
    Location:
    now here
    Country:
    United States
    Never thought it runs out in the older games :lol:
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I think the issue is that he used codes that game him a quantity of HMs, when you're normally supposed to have them as key items (with no quantity marker). HMs should never run out, even since R/B/Y.
     
  11. GammaGeorgeX

    Member GammaGeorgeX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Burundi
    Yeah if you have any codes effect a part of the RAM, then there's always some caution needed.
     
  12. Skixy

    Member Skixy Fight me.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,329
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe the codes you used somehow affected items. Is it still available in your bag? Or is it not there?
     
  13. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Gba's R/S/E/FR/LG were extremely sensible to action replay codes, I stopped using AR with my retail games, because even the safest codes would lock the berry/TM/HM bags and mess with the events of the game.

    May happen also with DS's D/P/Pla
     
  14. Daemauroa

    Member Daemauroa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Netherlands
    from my personal experience with when I cheated on Pokemon Platinum I could tell that some cheats when used, like a infinite item glitch, seems to affect the amount of uses of HM's. luckily I had already my HM-slave, so it wasn't that much of a problem for me. but I think if you ''cheat'' the HM's back (don't know if it is even possible), you could use them again. that is the only solution I could think of.
     
  15. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Sounds like pokemon, on hard mode!!!
    You get one HM! Use it wisely!
    But seriously, I have no idea what's wrong with your game, I have never even heard of this happening before.
     

Share This Page