1. emcintosh

    emcintosh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried using the Wii controller in HID-to-Vpad? I don't have a Classic Controller [Pro], so can't confirm this, but with luck it may Just Work.

    Does it show up in HID-Test? If so, you can create a config file to make it work.

    Else it might be possible to make it work with the Network Client, if you have a PC and a driver to make the Wiimote talk to it.

     
  2. _Shmubby

    _Shmubby Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Philippines
    No, I just ordered my Wii pro controller is still hasn't arrived yet, was just asking in case it would work.
     
  3. Lailson

    Lailson Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Brazil
    can anyone help me build the mapping for this arcade card? Thank you very much in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. maraxion

    maraxion Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Norway
    Seems like a great program!
    But is there anyway to get the switch pro controller to work wirelessly withouth a pc connection? Bluetooth dongle etc?

    Also, what about a wired xbox 360 with usb. Dident find that on the list. Tried connecting it, but no go. Any way to get that modded in?(figured xinput was only the Bluetooth models)
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2020
  5. Ewpb

    Ewpb Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    I've been faffing around with USB and Retroarchon the Wii and Wii U for years using an old arcade stick and recently my new 8bitdo pad.

    It's been a lot of trial and error and not much joy.

    Until I booted your app and selected the macOS option on the 8bitdo pad which turns the 8bitdo pad into a DS4.

    Tears of joy. I plugged it in and it just worked. :rofl2: Super Mario Bros Wii U has never felt so good. Thanks @Maschell

    It gave me inspiration to sort retroarch, seeing the DS4 is widely supported and amazingly after a faff I installed Retroarch 1.6.9 over the newer version that didn't have HID support and now it works. :grog:cheers [email protected]

    [Edit] Oh and @FIX94
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2020
  6. zerofalcon

    zerofalcon GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    590
    Country:
    Magic-NS Dongle by mayflash for both situations.
     
  7. _Shmubby

    _Shmubby Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hi! I'm a total noob at this but I would like to ask if it is possible to make it so that a Wii pro controller could be read as a Wii uU pro controller?

    I would like to play Terraria split-screen with my friend.
     
  8. Flaya

    Flaya GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Sweden
    So I made a config file for a generic USB N64 controller.

    It does not work, so I put the content of it here, and perhaps someone can tell me if I'm missing anything.

    Code:
    [vid=0x0079,pid=0x0006]
    
    VPAD_BUTTON_A=0x06,0x04
    VPAD_BUTTON_B=0x06,0x10
    
    VPAD_R_STICK_UP=0x05,0x1F
    VPAD_R_STICK_DOWN=0x05,0x4F
    VPAD_R_STICK_LEFT=0x05,0x8F
    VPAD_R_STICK_RIGHT=0x05,0x2F
    
    VPAD_BUTTON_PLUS=0x06,0x20
    
    VPAD_BUTTON_L=0x06,0x01
    VPAD_BUTTON_R=0x06,0x02
    
    VPAD_L_STICK_X=0x00,0x84
    VPAD_L_STICK_Y=0x01,0x81
    VPAD_L_STICK_X_MinMax=0x00,0xFF
    VPAD_L_STICK_Y_MinMax=0xFF,0x00
    
     
  9. emcintosh

    emcintosh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do any of the buttons work?

    Mapping the C buttons to the right stick, I'd expect not to include the F at the end - like mapping any other button you only need to include the value that's changing e.g.
    Code:
    0x05,0x10
    for C^, even if the second digit IS F in HID Test.

    The neutral value for the left stick should be 0x7F, around which you can add the deadzones corresponding to the actual neutral values you list i.e.
    Code:
    VPad_L_Stick_X_Deadzone =   0x05 // 84-7F=5
    VPad_L_Stick_Y_Deadzone =   0x02 // 81-7F=2
    or a little bit more to make sure the sticks register neutral properly.

    I think you need to have the y-inversion separately, i.e.
    Code:
    VPAD_L_STICK_Y_MinMax=0x00,0xFF
    VPad_L_Stick_Y_Invert   =   [true/false] //left stick Y Axis
    Let me know how you get on.
     
  10. Flaya

    Flaya GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'll try the changes later.

    FYI these values come from HID Test. Value changes include the F as given in the .ini.

    In HID Test the left stick would be the only stick on the controller.

    Looking at this, I'm either really dumb, or the info given on GitHub for adding controllers and the info from HID Test is misinformative.

    Thanks for your input, I'll report back when I've tried your suggestions. :)
     
  11. emcintosh

    emcintosh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For the C buttons, the 1, 2, 4 & 8 values in the first digit should be enough, and it's possible they're not registering properly when you require both digits to change.

    I understand that the N64 controller has only one analog stick, and I'm not clear why you mention that here.

    My point about the stick min/max was that you might need to swap the min and max values (as the stick will never register higher than FF or lower than 00, which is what your min/max line descrtibes), then put in the inversion line so the 'min' is the high value and 'max' is the low one.
     
  12. Flaya

    Flaya GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Sweden
    You ment like this?

    VPAD_R_STICK_UP=0x05,0x1
    VPAD_R_STICK_DOWN=0x05,0x4
    VPAD_R_STICK_LEFT=0x05,0x8
    VPAD_R_STICK_RIGHT=0x05,0x2

    And this?

    VPAD_L_STICK_X=0x00,0x7
    VPAD_L_STICK_X_MinMax=0xFF,0x00
    VPAD_L_STICK_Y=0x01,0x81
    VPAD_L_STICK_Y_MinMax=0x00,0xFF
    VPAD_L_STICK_INVERT=true

    EDIT: HID to VPAD says no controller connected, either way.

    Tried making a file for my NES USB controller as well. Same issue, it's not being seen.

    [vid=081f,pid=e401]

    VPad_Button_A=0x05,0x2F
    VPad_Button_B=0x05,0x1F
    VPad_Button_Plus=0x06,0x20
    VPad_Button_Minus=0x06,0x10

    DPad_Mode=Normal
    VPad_Button_Left=0x00,0x00
    VPad_Button_Right=0x00,0xFF
    VPad_Button_Up=0x01,0x00
    VPad_Button_Down=0x01,0xFF

    I'm thinking that perhaps HID to VPad doesn't work with generic USB controllers.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2020
  13. emcintosh

    emcintosh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could try connecting it using a computer and the Network Client.

    It's easiest to fill in how I think the config file should look:
    [vid=0x0079,pid=0x0006]

    VPAD_BUTTON_A=0x06,0x04
    VPAD_BUTTON_B=0x06,0x10

    VPAD_R_STICK_UP=0x05,0x10
    VPAD_R_STICK_DOWN=0x05,0x40
    VPAD_R_STICK_LEFT=0x05,0x80
    VPAD_R_STICK_RIGHT=0x05,0x20

    VPAD_BUTTON_PLUS=0x06,0x20

    VPAD_BUTTON_L=0x06,0x01
    VPAD_BUTTON_R=0x06,0x02
    // Should there be a VPAD_BUTTON_Z?

    VPAD_L_STICK_X=0x00,0x7F
    VPAD_L_STICK_Y=0x01,0x7F
    VPAD_L_STICK_X_MinMax=0x00,0xFF
    VPAD_L_STICK_Y_MinMax=0x00,0xFF
    VPad_L_Stick_X_Deadzone = 0x08 // 84-7F=5, so go a bit more than 5
    VPad_L_Stick_Y_Deadzone = 0x4 // 81-7F=2so go a bit more than 2
    VPad_L_Stick_Y_Invert = true

    The NES controller I can't be sure about. I've replaced the AFAIK unnecessary Fs with 0s for A & B, but the d-pad will need some experimenting. If you're right about the values, the block I copied from https://github.com/Maschell/controller_patcher/wiki/5.d-Controller-|-Adding-new-devices should fix it. Otherwise you'll have to have another look in HID Test and see whether it looks like four power-of-two values that add up when you press diagonals (Normal, same format as the N64's C buttons e.g. C^+C> would be 10+20=0x30) or nine different values for each of the eight directions plus neutral (Hat).

    [vid=081f,pid=e401]

    VPad_Button_A=0x05,0x20
    VPad_Button_B=0x05,0x10
    VPad_Button_Plus=0x06,0x20
    VPad_Button_Minus=0x06,0x10

    DPAD_MODE = DPAD_Absolute_2Values
    VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_ABS_UP = 0x01, 0x00 // byte at postion 0x01 needs to be 0x00
    VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_ABS_DOWN = 0x01, 0xFF // byte at postion 0x01 needs to be 0xFF
    VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_ABS_LEFT = 0x00, 0x00 // byte at postion 0x00 needs to be 0x00
    VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_ABS_RIGHT = 0x00, 0xFF // byte at postion 0x00 needs to be 0xFF
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2020
    Flaya likes this.
  14. Flaya

    Flaya GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Sweden
    I tried this, but HID to VPAD still says "Currently no device is connected"

    I press "A" to map my controller and then a button on it, but it won't work.

    Edit: Made a emulation setup on my PC instead. Less hassle and plug&play support.

    Issue resolved.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2020
  15. theduffman82

    theduffman82 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there any way to use a ps4/ps3 hori racing wheel with hid to vpad. I don't have the mapping file for it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  16. Treeko

    Treeko GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    Is it normal for the home button to not be working after you connect your controller? I tried both a original model Dualshock 4 and a switch pro controller, while testing the buttons in the app it shows pressing home on the DS4 or pro controller registers as a home button press but when on the Wii U menu or ingame it does not register as a home button press at all.

    Also it seems like switch pro controller stick configuration by default is wrong, because tilting the left stick all the way to up only registered as a slight tilt of the stick in wind waker hd, went and tested the controller on my switch with the inbuilt stick testing tool and it works perfectly no drift or lag, even tried the controller in a couple of games with no issues, if anyone has a proper switch pro controller configuration and don't mind sharing it would be appreciated.
     
  17. emcintosh

    emcintosh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, this is normal, unfortunately - https://github.com/Maschell/controller_patcher/wiki/5.d-Controller-|-Adding-new-devices says
    Home = VPAD_BUTTON_HOME (Won't trigger the home menu)
    under 'Which buttons can be mapped'.

    You're still doing better than me! Both the 8bitdo SF30pro and Magic-NS pretend to be a Switch Pro Controller, and on connecting either of them, HID-to-Vpad reports the left stick (IIRC) being pressed diagonally to one corner, and no other buttons respond. I guess that the controller is sending its initial message that it is connected, but failing to get back the response that would make it start reporting button presses.
     
  18. Vijer

    Vijer Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Mexico
    Is there any way to fix that left stick problem? Recently I bought a Nyko Switch pro Controller and I can't use it 'cause of that thing. :(
     
  19. Blitzur

    Blitzur Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I cant get the Network client to run? is it because of java 8? tried it on 4 PCs. I cant find an old java 7 without an oracle account :(

    edit:// nevermind, i found an old 7 installer on my harddrive it works now :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2020
  20. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,524
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    I got this Mayflash Adapter today:

    P1360257.JPG P1360260.JPG P1360261.JPG

    It is attached to the Wii U this Way:

    P1360262.JPG


    The PAL Wii U is on CBHC (System Software was 5.5.4 before the Exploit was done).

    The Adapter with attached GameCube Controllers works with NINTENDONT on vWii - started from within the USBLoader GX and from the Homebrew Channel.
    Except the RESET back to the Loader (R+Z+B+DOWN) all is fine.

    Then I used HID to VPAD on the Wii U,it recognized the GameCube Controller (Device 1) and it works very good (except the "Z" Button) for the first Time.

    Then I made a Re-Boot of the Wii U and since then the Adapter is no longer working/recognized from HID to VPAD.:sad:
    It stills works with NINTENDONT on the vWii.

    Games are running from the 2 different USB HDDs (Wii and Wi U Games) each connected correctly with an Y Cable on the Back Side.

    Did I made something wrong ? :mellow:

    Thank you for any Support or Help from you.:)
     
    oldboy88 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted