ROM Hack Hi, I would like to ask for a little guidance.

Winner_Is_You

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi, I recently began to develop an interest in DS ROM editing and hacking for the sake of one game; Megaman ZX. In the US release, Capcom removed all Japanese dialogue spoken during the text and also removed mission briefings. Because I'm crazy, I have gotten the urge to do whatever it takes to get the original voiced dialogue back onto an original cart with English text.

The thing is, I'm really new to this subject, as in out-of-the-box fresh. I'm willing to get the hardware (eventually) and the software needed it's just that I'd like some hints from some of the veterans of this subject. Help would be appreciated and I'd be very thankful if someone could provide a guide that I can use to learn this subject.

If prior knowledge is a prerequisite and no one can help me without me knowing first, or this editted ROM can't be put onto a real game cart, let me know please. Thanks in advance!

kenghot

Newcomer
Trophies
Website
www.kenghot.com
XP
Country
Thailand
hi,
For me, I started hack Nds , and FF3 translate is my first project and it completely done. Nds is easier than GBA but quite different, There is no much tool for Nds. "Dslazy" is your friend. In Nds , it not use normal tile 8x8 as gba. and each game has completely defferent to the other. so u need to create your own tools to hack nds rom by yourself. You can see my tool at http://www.kenghot.com/GH_ShowArticle.asp?HID=10&CATID=
btw, This tool can use with ff3 jap version only. Can not use with another game.

Winner_Is_You

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States