Help with Ocarina

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ, Oct 13, 2008.

Oct 13, 2008

Help with Ocarina by TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ at 9:39 PM (4,376 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States
    I finally got the homebrew channel to work on my wii. I tried the old version back in the day, but I couldn't get it to install @_@...Anyway, I have Ocarina installed, and I selected a few cheats for SSBB(US). When I go into the homebrew channel and click Ocarina, it tells me it is loading, but stays at 0% for evvvver (or as long as I leave it there)

    What's going on?


    And assuming this gets fixed, where can I find more cheats? I don't need a USBGecko do i?
     
  2. acesniper

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    you can try using the backup loader aka usb gecko w/ ocarina to loader your game. it wont hurt.
     
  3. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States
    But I don't have a USBGecko....Or money for thatmatter...jobless@_@

    Also on a side note, when ever I try to go back to the Wii menu from the homebrew channel my Wii hardlocks and the omnly way out is too hold the power button


    Sorry, I'm kinda new at this, I couldn't even make my own cheats on gameshark back in the day @_@
     
  4. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a gamecube memory card in slot a or b, take it out. If that doesn't work, backup your sd card to your pc, format it with the wii and copy your files back on.

    and rawalisb - usb gecko and the backup loader are two totally different things (usbgecko is a piece of hardware that you plug into your gamecube memory card slot to dump the wii's RAM onto your pc and make edits or take screenshots, GeckoOS came first, Wiigator modified the source code of an older release and packed it as a backup loader) and what I think you're referring to is something else altogether - the new GeckoOS with ocarina support.

    back to TWEEDLE - go to http://usbgecko.com/manual.htm and download the new GeckoOS 1.07b (about halfway down the list) and put it on your sd card and make sure your codes are converted to *.gct files and in the codes folder on your sd card. This version of GeckoOS has ocarina support so you don't even need ocarina itself anymore, just the PC app to compile your *.gct files from ".txt lists
     
  5. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States

    alright I'll try that now. I put the geckoos in my apps folder wheere ocarina was previously right?
     
  6. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, and your gct's in the codes dir (not apps\codes but \codes)
     
  7. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States

    Alright thanks man, I'll keep you posted on my progress. Where do I find codes anyway? for once Google wasn't really helpful to me.
     
  8. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, it was the GC memory cards:-pSould I still use the geckoos?
     
  9. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    That's up to you, I like GeckoOS and have had less issues with codes working so that's what I use. It also has other cool stuff like rebooter which reboots your wii and turns off the no-copy flag so you can back up saved games nintendo doesn't allow you to by default. and it does everything in RAM so once your wii is turned off it's back to normal again.

    Codes are pretty easy once you get the hang of it.

    you'll still need the pc app ocarina came with (hopefully you still have it on your pc! if not, it's packed in with ocarina so just redownload it)

    go to http://usbgecko.com/codes/

    and download the txt code lists from there and open them in the ocarina pc app and check the boxes of the codes you want to use (they need to be chosen and compiled into a gct, if you want to use different individual codes meaning if you want to turn certain codes on or off you need to delete the gct from your sd card and compile a new gct) and save them to a gct named xxxx.gct (xxxx being the game retail code, which should be something like rhte54.gct or whatever, everything you need to know is in the text code lists) keep in mind you can run the game without codes by running it though the normal disc channel, but when you boot the disc through GeckoOS it will automatically search for gct files of that game's retail code and apply them. you can also turn ocarina off in GeckoOS if you're just using it to run an import game. It's a really neat swiss army knife of the wii.

    If you have any trouble or if I'm being a bit confusing let me know. Hope it works out for you and have fun!
     
  10. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Easy enough, nice tool ocarina codes like, need it for manhunt 2 [​IMG]
     
  11. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's working now.n I selected some cheats and noticed no change however @_@... I'll find something that works...Thanks for your help man.


    EDIT: Actually,, it seems like none of the cheats are working @_@... I understood why sonic bowser moveswap didn't work and just crashed, but any other cheat I add seems to show nothing different... Then again the descriptions for the cheats are bleh.
     
  12. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    make sure GeckoOS is finding your codes too, it'll say codes found or codes not found when it boots your game.

    also for SSBB, a lot of the codes have variables (XX, YY) read the comments section in the Ocarina PC app after loading your code text file to see if you need to set them to a value.
     
  13. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States


    Ya gecko says codes loaded every time. I have changed values when needed. Hmm...
     
  14. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I got it to work this time, but i didn't do anything different o.O


    Do yo uknow the taunt for final smash code? It wasn't on the site you gave me... or infinite final smash....I also didn't see the cheats for levels that aren't normally there :-/
     
  15. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    That's the only place I know of, sorry. Glad you got it working though [​IMG]
     
  16. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States

    No problem, thanks again.
     
  17. acesniper

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I meant GeckoOS. Wasn't thinking straight.
     
  18. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    haha it's cool, we all brainfart [​IMG] I was so descriptive so if anyone was confused and was popping in with a similar problem they wouldn't get even more confused. We've all been there at one point! (plus nuke hates that GeckoOS was used as a backbone, but that's the thing with open source, as long as the source is released people can mod it all they want)
     
  19. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Ya I probably wouldn't have figured out the GC memory cards for at least a hour or two of me getting mad, plus stress testing the problem(as far as I could at least)



    I've seen a list of a lot of apps, but now that you showed me geckoos, it seems really out dated. mSo, I was wondering what other apps are cool?
    I really like that I can import with geckoOS though
     
  20. TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ
    OP

    Member TWEEDLEDEEZNUTZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Country:
    United States


    lol that was bad

    Um I meant the apps I found for the homebrew channel seem out dated. UM, I was wondering what you would recommend
     

Share This Page