Homebrew Help with making text editor

boot2490

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I want to make a SIMPLE (like tutorial you find on making a text editor simple) text editor for ds because everything else either doesn't work on certian things (scds2) or doesn't save .txt files. I was thinking about porting one from a c tutorial, because I heard devkitpro can compile c to nds.
PLEASE DO NOT YELL AT ME IF I AM WRONG.
PLEASE DO NOT TELL ME I CANNOT DO THIS BECAUSE I AM A NOOB OR SOMETHING TO A SIMILAR EFFECT. I KNOW WHAT I AM DOING.
I EXPECT BETTER THAN THE TYPICAL NOOB TREATMENT AS I AM NOT NEW TO FORUMS IN GENERAL.
Thank you.

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
boot2490 said:
I EXPECT BETTER THAN THE TYPICAL NOOB TREATMENT AS I AM NOT NEW TO FORUMS IN GENERAL.
Rule 1 of just about any sort of etiquette is to not use all caps...
Also not cool to instantly assume everyone is going to treat you like shit, kinda makes you come off as an asshole (pardon the language, I just state things as I see them).

While it might be possible for you to port C to the NDS, I think the first obstacle is going to be input. You'll need to make an onscreen keyboard for the DS.
Second obstacle will be the 4MB RAM limit of the DS, so don't expect anything too fancy.

You might also want to read this topic for some ideas and maybe get into contact with Argentum Vir for a possible collaboration.

I would also suggest making the project opensource in some fashion not for anything like 'zomg open source iz bettar!!', but because of the frequency that projects get dropped/abandoned for the DS. If you make it opensource and keep it up to date, if you ever drop it then someone can pick up where you left off or at least use yours as a reference.

boot2490

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
twiztidsinz said: