Help Revise on the Parts I'm Buying to build computer.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Justin121994, Feb 28, 2011.

1. Justin121994
    OP

Member Justin121994 Bitcoin. coinbase.com/andrew

United States
    Well this is my first time building my computer. It's really expensive and wondering if this is worth the price. Should I swap anything for something cheaper or leave it as it is? This is for gaming/school/programming. Any help would be appreciated. I really can't spend much. Should I get a cheaper cpu? Is six cores really worth it. Is my gpu good?

Sorry for it not being formated THAT good, but is this an ok computer?

2. Splych

Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

Philippines
    there really isn't anything else to improve in my opinion .
    it comes to a total of $900 and all the parts are great brands .

3. Frederica Bernkastel

Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

United Kingdom
    The only things I'd personally change would be the motherboard to an Asus P8P67 Deluxe and CPU to an i5 2500K.
    Sure there may be 2 less cores, but at least it'll last a long time, run more efficiently and overall will be more powerful.
    Other than that, pretty nice build.

4. ollepoll

Member ollepoll GBAtemp Regular

Germany
    you have a much too big psu and a too slow graphics card

use a x4 955 and as a gfx card a 6950 or a 560

a ram with a lower cl would be better and the case is overkill, in my oppinion

5. Frederica Bernkastel

United Kingdom
    Clearly you have little idea about how power supply units work. Having a larger amount of power available than is used increases their lifespan by several times.
    Plus it allows for components to be upgraded at a later date without having to worry about replacing PSU.