1. KallyB_

    OP KallyB_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [Help!] Problems after transferring data from SD!

    Hi all! Just to start off, I have Luma3DS and B9S on my Old 3DS. I have installed many games on my 32gb SD card, and wanted to use that same SD card to install some games on my Wii U. So, I cut and pasted my SD card to my PC and went about my business on WUP installer. Anyway, when I came to put my 3DS' backup on the SD, it was too big! Somehow, it had increased in size. (My SD card has 28GB of availible space, but the backup is 33GB)

    It's probably me just being stupid, but any help or advice would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    When Bob Ross has SD card issues. Just my day. :lol:

    • Your 32 GB card should have an actually physical size of about 30 GB. If Windows File Explorer in right click properties manager states your card is 32 GB in size, you have a fake card.
    • You should backup whatever stuff is currently on the card, reformat it in FAT32 + 32 KB, and (on an empty card) check with h2testw doing a full write+verify test. This program will tell you if there's anything wrong with it.
    • Please don't assume your card is fine or real. If you skip that test, no one can help you if your hardware is flawed. CFW will not work as intended if the foundation is bad.
    • If that program finds nothing wrong, double check your 3DS backup if files not from your original setup were accidentally added in.
    • Are you sure your SD card has enough free space to carry your 3DS setup after adding in the Wii U stuff? Gotta check the GB size math with what's getting added vs what the card's capable of holding.
     
    KallyB_ likes this.
  3. KallyB_

    OP KallyB_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Joy of Painting? Nah, the Joy of Homebrew :ha:

    But thanks for the reply! I can confirm that the SD is legit and fully working, and I have been running custom firmware on it for over a year. It has also been formatted so there aren't any extra files.
    However, I was looking around on the folder of the backup I made, and found that the "Nintendo 3DS" folder was taking up 30.5GB. This is quite weird, especially when taken into account that the SD's max is 28...? :huh:
     
  4. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    Did you ever confirm your card's legitimacy with h2testw? I can't take your word for it as this is the #1 problem in debugging SD card issues. If you start off with the assumption the card is real without hard data to back up that claim, you'll run into problems trying to figure out why your 3DS acts funny with your files should it happen to be that your card is fake or broken with bad sectors. Always check, my friend. Always.

    As for your 3DS backup being bigger than before, there could be a possible explanation for the discrepancy. All files actually have two types of sizes you should be aware of. These are size and size on disk. Size is the digital form of all the 0's and 1's of that file. The size on disk is always the larger of two stating how much is required from the card's physical size in housing that file's size.

    Your total size on disk is determined by combined factors of the card's formatted allocation size and number of files you have. You eat more physical space when you use a larger allocation size (64 KB vs 32 KB) and have a vast quantity of (smaller) files [Ex: 100x 1KB files vs 10,000x 1KB files].

    For 32 KB cluster size,
    100 files each sized with 1 KB will consume 320 KB worth of disk space, even though you have 100 KB worth of digital stuff.

    For 64 KB cluster size,
    those same 100 files each sized 1KB will need 640 KB worth of disk space. This is terrible as you get a factor of 5 loss. Yikes!
     
    KallyB_ likes this.
  5. KallyB_

    OP KallyB_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can assure you, my friend that the card has been tested on h2testw (which came out positive) and I am aware of the whole 'size on disk' part. It's only a few megabytes difference between the actual size and size on disk.
    Is there any way I can delete a few games from the Nintendo 3DS folder to make space?
    I'm very thankful for your advice and time! :3
     
  6. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    I believe it's possible to individually cut out games from your Nintendo 3DS folder. They'll still up on HOME Menu with their icons, but launching these missing games will lead to a crash.

    In the 0:/Nintendo 3DS/<ID0>/<ID1>/title/00040000/ directory, cut and paste out whichever games you want to leave out if you know them by their TitleID. Once you've trimmed the 3DS backup size down and are able to boot into HOME Menu, you should find which games you took out and put their icons in a separate folder.

    When it's time to use them again with freed up space, just add them back in.
     
    KallyB_ likes this.
  7. KallyB_

    OP KallyB_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have been nothing but helpful, my friend. Thanks to you, I've got everything up and running...

    Happy painting, and God bless. *Little finger wave*
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
  8. KallyB_

    OP KallyB_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for keeping this discussion open, but I think I found a possible reason for my problem.

    I was looking around the "Nintendo 3DS" folder, and opened the DLC folder (0004008c) and the Updates folder (0004000e) and I came across some folders that I'm sure I deleted on my 3DS, but were still there in the folder, like Fire Emblem Fates' Birthright DLC. After deleting several DLC's and Updates, my backup is now small enough for the games that I previously deleted to make room.

    Is it possible that the 3DS kept all these folders compressed, but opened them up when I copied them to the PC?
     
  9. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, 3DS doesn't compress files in the Nintendo 3DS folder. What you see on the card is how they are.

    What did you use to delete them? FBI or System Settings' Data Management? I think if you delete the parent games, their DLCs are left alone as separate items.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jun 10, 2018
    KallyB_ likes this.
  10. KallyB_

    OP KallyB_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh ok, well there goes that theory...
    And I use data management to delete everything.


    But the question still remains - How did 35GB of files fit on a card with 28GB of availible space? ¯\_(ツ)_/ ¯
     
    Last edited by KallyB_, Jun 10, 2018
  11. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    No clue. Best theory is you experienced the Mandela effect. You crossed over to the Berenstain universe where your original parallel counterpart had the extra data. lol
     
    KallyB_ likes this.
  12. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,634
    Country:
    Norway
    Corrupted files reporting the wrong size maybe. Or maybe when your tried to delete the DLC, the file pointer was still left there due to a glitch but pointing to garbage data.
     
    KallyB_ likes this.
  13. KallyB_

    OP KallyB_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So, there's a parallel universe where me and Bob Ross are trading Pokémon? :toot:



    If that were the case then wouldn't the files, though they may be corrupt, still copy over? Or would its face value prevent it?
     
    Last edited by KallyB_, Jun 10, 2018
  14. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,634
    Country:
    Norway
    Windows wouldn't let you. Effectively when the corrupted data was copied to the PC it was duplicated so it became two separate copies (the actual files that contain the data and the bad files containing data from other files)
    But, that's just a theory. A game theor- wait wrong website.
     
    Last edited by The Real Jdbye, Jun 10, 2018
  15. KallyB_

    OP KallyB_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the insight! You too are worthy of a Bob Ross send-off.

    Happy homebrewing, and God bless, my friend *Happy little finger wave*
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - transferring, Problems,