Help please, some DSone .sav files not loading

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by elmnt61, Nov 19, 2009.

Nov 19, 2009
  1. elmnt61
    OP

    Newcomer elmnt61 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys. I'm wondering why all of the sudden a few of my games aren't loading their .sav files. (Or maybe they are, but they are not working...)

    For example, for Pokémon platinum, FF: chocobo Tales, and my Lameboy games, I am brought to the main menu which just has the option for "new game".

    But for others, like DK racing, Chrono Trigger, most of the rest, everything is fine.

    I had backed up my .savs a while ago, so I tried replacing some of the faulty ones, but it had no effect.

    Could this have something to do with the newer firmware which I updated recently? I'm not exactly sure of the timeline of when i noticed the .savs not loading :/

    I'm using a DSone with a 4GB A-Data Micro SD card, on my DS lite.

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    It's probably because you put a new Pokémon game, a new Final Fantasy game etc on your card. Because of the SC's lame DOS .SAV file naming, the SC confuses them sometimes and makes you lose your save files [​IMG]
     
  3. elmnt61
    OP

    Newcomer elmnt61 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    :/ I really don't think I did though... Pokemon Pl. is the newest game...

    but you're right that these games are franchises.. with several iterations... that i have played in the past.

    Any other ideas? Save size problems? Patch problems? Enabling/disabling stuff?
     
  4. elmnt61
    OP

    Newcomer elmnt61 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    I'm still trying to figure this out. Can anyone shed some light?

    My .sav files didn't get turned into the truncated versions like POKEMO~1.sav or anything like that, so why would they have gotten mixed up?
     
  5. Uncle FEFL

    Member Uncle FEFL OBJECTION!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    PM me for Social Security information
    Country:
    United States
    There's still a save file problem, IIRC. Try renaming .sav to .SAV and see if that works. I haven't had problems with saving yet.
     
  6. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Tried the Evolution OS yet?
     
  7. elmnt61
    OP

    Newcomer elmnt61 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    I actually installed the new firmware and now my Chocobo Tales works! Hm. Too bad the one I'm really after is Pokemon Platinum. :/ But that's nice to have. I tried changing the .sav to .SAV, but didn't seem to help. Lameboy games haven't come back either.

    Yesterday I read something about the Pokemon Plat requiring 1MB save file, and if I had a smaller one, then the save file would become corrupt when it reaches capacity as I progress through the game. Has that happened to anyone else?
     
  8. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hasn't happened to me yet, but just keep your saves at the 2M/4M, you can never go wrong with that.
     
  9. LittleBigMods

    Member LittleBigMods GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    I was going to suggest that, too. I haven't had any problems on the new release of the EOS.
     

Share This Page