Help needed, Sys. 4.3E and Letterbomb

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kman999, Dec 10, 2011.

Dec 10, 2011
  1. kman999
    OP

    Newcomer kman999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I updated my wii to 4.3E. I then downloaded the Letterbomb with bootmii bundle. The install process was:-
    1. Install HBC
    2. Install bootmii as boot 2 and IOS
    3. Prepare SD Card
    4. Install Priiloader
    5. Backup NAND

    All the above works ok, but when I go into the bootmii main screen screen my contoller does nothing(on the controller the lights just flash). I have managed to backup the NAND and prepare the SD Card but still it does nothing (on the controller the lights just flash).

    Also what would recommend for playing backup games from disc or do you think that USB is the best option??

    I also tried to reinstall everything but still the same,

    thanks
     


  2. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can only navigate with the front buttons of your wii, or with a GameCube controller.

    If you want to mod your Wii, use ModMii, it's an all in one solution. USB-loading is waaaaayyyy better then disc loading.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bootmii isn't supposed to work with the wiimote so you'll either have to use the power/reset buttons n the wii ior using a GameCube controller

    I recemend using a backup loader if you have a spare hard drive lying around, as it provides high game compatibility and is much faster at loading games compared to discs. read this to get started
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. kman999
    OP

    Newcomer kman999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks guys
     
  5. kman999
    OP

    Newcomer kman999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Perfect, thanks for the help so farm. I have manage to get the USB Drive and copy a game to it using the backup Manager. All looks ok, then I copied the USBLaoder GX onto my SD Card(IOS250.dol renamed to boot.dol) and plugged in the USB drive. I loaded the USB Laoder from HBS but it gives be an error this requires CISO 222. Have I missed something.
     
  6. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Try using the ios249 dol & if you get the same error then post a syscheck to see what's missing . You are probably missing a cios or you used the wrong .dol without noticing .
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. kman999
    OP

    Newcomer kman999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I used 250.dol, but dont remember installing CIOS, do i need this.....
     
  8. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Of course you do . You need to install a cios for the usbloader to load . Just use Modmii to download the cios & install them using a wad manger . If don't have a clue about anything I said then just run modmii wizard & when it generate the guide skip the parts you already done .
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. kman999
    OP

    Newcomer kman999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all your help so far, I think I am nearly there. Followed Modmii and its has installed all the IOS and USB Loader, so what I have now is that when the wii reboot its goes to bootmii, I go into HBC. From Here I have copied over the USB Loader GX and click on that, when I go into it it says initilising SD Card and then says waiting for HDD . I have Freecom 500GB Toughbook. It is partitioned into 380GB for personal files (NTFS) and 120GB (FAT32) with all the wii file from ModMii Wizard.

    It seems that when the wii boots up it goes into BOOTMII, if I go back to the Wii System Menu it gives me a blank screen with 4.3 EUR in bottom corner??? and if I remove the SD Card it goes straight into black screen with just 4.3 EUR on the bottom right
     
  10. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Well seems like something screwed up in the system menu & you are lucky to have bootmii@boot2 so you can still boot your wii . Try uninstalling/reinstalling priiloader if you are really booting from bootmii since some people tend to confuse bootmii with priiloader but if you are booting hbc from priiloader then say so & I will tell you another way to fix it .
     
  11. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    you enabled recovery mode hacks in priiloader. disable them. and for the bootmii thing theres a bootmii folder on your sd copy it to you computer and save it. the .end. also use cfg usbloader is is better then gx (wich sucks)
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. kman999
    OP

    Newcomer kman999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi the recovery mode in priiloader worked thanks your a star, could you explain the bootmii and the usbloader again. modmii did copy the usbloader folder but asked me to copy it to the USB not the SD Card.

    I went back into the System Menu and went into USB loader, it said insert USB Drive, the screen went blank and then went back to system MEnu...
     
  13. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,522
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    umm... not if you have an older wii with a mod chip. I have ZERO compatability issues using disc loading with hacked firmware+mod chip :)
     
  14. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    lol thats just a forwarder. use modmii and grab cfg usbloader and wii backup manager and convert isos to wbfs then the channel will work. other then that if you have a bunch of retail discs you can install them using your wii no big deal. the bootmii thing. put the bootmii folder on your sd on to your computer and save it there or create a bootmii.ini file using modmii
     
  15. terrifictroare

    Newcomer terrifictroare Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys I have a similar problem as this, used letter bomb to set it all up but usb loader GX and CFG usbloader say they cannot detect the hard drive, this is my second time of modding doing it for a friend so I know my hard drive is ok as it works on my wii but his wont recognise it.

    Have tried formating his new HDD as wbfs and fat32 and neither work.

    As I said second go at this so have some very basic knowledge but am good at following instructions.
     
  16. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Are you sure the usb port is working? And you really installed the cios correctly? You can try it with a usb pen drive.
     
  17. terrifictroare

    Newcomer terrifictroare Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Ok this is where you will have to humour me, do I just format the pen as wfbs and put a game on the same? also what Cios should I check has installed?
     
  18. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Don't use wbfs, it's outdated :P Just take a pen drive, place it in your wii and sees if it detects it.
     
  19. terrifictroare

    Newcomer terrifictroare Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Lol told you I was stupid, just tried that and neither CFg or GX detect it, am I right in assuming that i have missed installing a cios?
     
  20. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah maybe, get this and install ios249 base ios56 as described in the readme.
     

Share This Page