Help for newbie

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by DexterMorgan, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. DexterMorgan
    OP

    DexterMorgan Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 11, 2009
    United States
    Hey,
    Im totally new to the DS and stuff, im going to be getting my first DS Lite tomorrow(not interested in DSi) anyway im interested in getting Acekard and was looking at this one:

    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.11811

    I just wanted to know if you guys think that's a good one to get? I read about newer versions having no spingloaded and stuff and im wondering which is better the newer or older ones? And which one is the one in the link the old or new?

    Thanks alot [​IMG]
     
  2. antonkan

    antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,063
    8
    Jun 13, 2009
    Canada
    Burlington, ON
    I think it's new for Acekard 2i.
     
  3. Drucifer

    Drucifer Member

    Newcomer
    47
    0
    Jul 7, 2006
    Canada
    I just got an AceKard 2i and it is spring loaded.
     
  4. iFish

    iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Member
    4,223
    159
    Jul 11, 2009
    Canada
    Montreal, QC
    if yo dont mind spending 2 more dollars get the ak2i just in case you ever wanna update
     
  5. DexterMorgan
    OP

    DexterMorgan Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 11, 2009
    United States
    Thanks for the replies, im just wondering whats the differences between the newer AK2s and the one in the link? Is the AK2i better? Even if i dont plan on getting a DSI ever. Im just confused because i tried reading up on it as much as i can i kept reading about different color PCBs and which is newer and better. So basicly what i want to know is, whats the difference between the card i linked to and the AK2i(besides the obvious DSi support)

    I know i must sound stupid, sorry :/.
     
  6. DustyVN

    DustyVN Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Sep 5, 2009
    United States
    The Acekard2i is EXACTLY the same as the Acekard2 besides the DSi compatibility. I actually just got the same one that you linked in the first post, and it works perfectly.
     
  7. DexterMorgan
    OP

    DexterMorgan Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 11, 2009
    United States

    Awesome, thanks. I just bought it. Does it come with instructions as to how to use it?
     
  8. anaxs

    anaxs got milk, got candy

    Member
    2,208
    1
    Mar 23, 2009
    Canada
    your moms jeans pocket
    all u gotta do is download akaio 1.5 which u can probably find on this site and unzip it
    then put all the files in the root of your msd and your all set
    then u could make a games folder if u want and put all your games in there and homebrew
     
  9. DexterMorgan
    OP

    DexterMorgan Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 11, 2009
    United States
    Perfect sounds easy enough, you guys are very helpfull, i just have one more newbish question if possible, i just picked up my DS today is it safe to install the newest DS firmware? Its going to take 2-3 weeks to get my acekard so im just curious.
     
  10. antonkan

    antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,063
    8
    Jun 13, 2009
    Canada
    Burlington, ON
    Do you have a Nintendo DSi or Nintendo DS Lite? I'm confused.
     
  11. brissmas

    brissmas GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    165
    0
    Dec 22, 2008
    Pallet Town ^-^
    You dont need to install firmware on a normal DS.
     
  12. DexterMorgan
    OP

    DexterMorgan Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 11, 2009
    United States
    Ah ok sorry, i read about not updating the DSI firmware so i assumed the DSL had updatable firmware also. Sorry.