Hekate SD failed to init - 256gb SD card *problem UNSOLVED*

Discussion in 'Switch - Exploits, Custom Firmwares & Soft Mods' started by AR2, Sep 7, 2019.

  1. AR2
    OP

    AR2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Mar 12, 2017
    Netherlands
    Hey y'all first time making a thread, I am in quite a pickle.
    Yesterday i tried to hack my switch for the first time and used the switch homebrew guide.
    All was well until i wanted to make a backup, when i tried to load the backup boot function in the latest hekate (5.0.1) i received a failed tot init SD card error
    For clarification i am using a Samsung EVO plus 256gb SD and i am running the latest firmware on the switch, my switch is hackable
    I have tried exFat/Fat32 formats, both failed.
    I tried using instructions from a post i found in another thread

    "Whenever hekate for 4.x crashes, it makes the SD card unusable with hetake (When the payload launches, it says "Failed to mount SD card (make sure that it is inserted)" and continues to ofw). Formatting using SDFormatter and guiformat makes the sd card work with hekate again (Thanks ReSwitched user-support), but after it crashes again, the whole process starts all over again (Including 3 hour restore of sd card backup).

    My question is: Is anyone else experiencing this problem? I can't seem to find anyone else talking about it on Discord or GBATemp.
    Format your SD card to fat32. I did it with the program Rufus.

    Use @CTCaer payload version 1.3 Thread

    With the SDfiles from this release

    So CTCAER Payload and the sdcard.zip from other release and i can launch hbmenu with my Samsung Evo 64gb SDXC card. On my 4.0.1 Switch


    Posted by Addconsult in the other thread."


    But to no avail, also whilst being totally honest i don't know if i fully understood what is being said in the post above.
    i am totally clueless as to what i can do to solve this issue, does someone have a similar problem and manage to solve this?


    .-------------

    Update:
    Fixed by reinstalling the sd card reader in the system, your milieage may vary, could be your part is just broken mine wasn't
     
    Last edited by AR2, Sep 13, 2019
  2. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend

    Member
    18
    Aug 6, 2017
    United States
    New York City
    Have you tried using ReiNX, Fusee, or even SX OS?
     
  3. AR2
    OP

    AR2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Mar 12, 2017
    Netherlands
    Yes I have the problem is with all of them my SD card just won't get recognized, whilst using it normally gives me no issues
     
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend

    Member
    18
    Aug 6, 2017
    United States
    New York City
    Its possible that your SD card slot is broken which happens more often than you think. If you have another SD card you can try, then we can rule it out.
     
  5. Octario

    Octario Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 2, 2019
    Indonesia
    Same problem like me, cant solve it till now, dont know whats wrong with it
     
  6. link77709

    link77709 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 5, 2019
    United States
    My first thought would be to try and see if the sd card is working with the switch regardless of hekate. Try loading a game from it normally. Sounds like you said it does in a previous reply. The second thing that sticks out to me is the other post you found notes a 3 hour restore of the sd card. Sounds like they had other things that weren't homebrew related on their sd card because it definitely shouldn't take 3 hours to transfer a backup of just homebrew. So if you have things that aren't homebrew related on your sd, i would try removing them.
     
  7. AR2
    OP

    AR2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Mar 12, 2017
    Netherlands
    Well I ordered a ifixit tool kit so I will try unplugging en replugging, also I ordered a replacement part so if it's any of these things I will post in this thread

    Well yeah I tried it without anything on the SD, I tried to let the switch itself do the formatting, tried a formatting tool, used another SD with the same things listed in this sentence and none of these effort bore fruits. It could be a faulty part, which btw is kind of bs if these parts are so fragile for a "portable" device.
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  8. asdfmann

    asdfmann Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 11, 2019
    Germany
    A stab in the dark: Could this be a problem with using a GUID partition table instead of MBR?
     
    Nangwan likes this.
  9. Djakku

    Djakku Member

    Newcomer
    2
    May 9, 2019
    United Kingdom
    I have a similar issue with my old switch :

    The sd card is read on Horizon but not on RCM mode.
    I replace the reader an when i did that, i saw that 2 pins from the motherboard were stuck on original card reader.

    I place the can't do soldering and I'm not aware of any service that will resolder those 2 missing pieces on the motherboard.
    Swtich boot fin but it's banned so pretty much useless aside of playing offine cartridge games.
     
    Octario likes this.
  10. AR2
    OP

    AR2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Mar 12, 2017
    Netherlands
    So as a update, i managed to fix my switch. The thing i need to do was reconnect my sd card reader. The part was not broken, it was loose as such it did not make a good connection. I will put this as a update in the header as to how i managed to fix this. In any case thank you all for your support!
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  11. KnightRiderX420

    KnightRiderX420 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    GBAtemp Patron
    KnightRiderX420 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 24, 2018
    United States
    I can say i had the same issue and determined it was indeed from using GUID instaed of mbr. once i converted it it was gone.... i in the end had to reformat to get all free space back. but i found out the reason why i was getting the mount error.... so it should be noted to always as of today use mbr partition table.
     
  12. n0where

    n0where Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 3, 2008
    United States
    I'm having the same problem. Hekate will not init my microsd card.I've tried different loaders and unhacked my switch and it works or at least recognizes the device. I've replaced the sd card reader and the memory card.
     
Loading...