Hacking Hekate 5.0.1 doesn't actually power off?

bird333

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
101
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
519
Country
United States
When I power off my switch from Hekate it is actually still in RCM mode. Is there some setting I need to change to actually have it power off?
 

LyuboA

Unknown Entity
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
525
Trophies
0
XP
806
Country
Bulgaria
you can use Auto RCM with Hekate 5.0.1 and the option Power Off on next payload this will allow you to be able to Power Off from HOS too without going into RCM after that you need only press the power button and you will be in RCM
this is how i use it my Switch was off for 3 days and the battery was still at 100% and if i have plugged RCM payload injector and power off it dosnt reboot in 15sec so i know this works been using it for a month now
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

bird333

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
101
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
519
Country
United States
you can use Auto RCM with Hekate 5.0.1 and the option Power Off on next payload this will allow you to be able to Power Off from HOS too without going into RCM after that you need only press the power button and you will be in RCM
this is how i use it my Switch was off for 3 days and the battery was still at 100% and if i have plugged RCM payload injector and power off it dosnt reboot in 15sec so i know this works been using it for a month now
So you are saying I can just power off the switch from HOS? I thought that only sent it to RCM. I still would think that power off from Hekate would actually power off the system.
 

LyuboA

Unknown Entity
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
525
Trophies
0
XP
806
Country
Bulgaria
yes power off from hekate power off the the system but with that option enabled you are able to power off directly from power menu in HOS
 

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
4,461
Country
United States
I dont think you're really in RCM. When you plug your switch into a PC it sends power through the USB cable and your switch automatically turns on. You dont have to hit the power button. And yes you obviously still have autoRCM enabled. Boot hekate, turn on autoRCM and then turn it off again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND and bird333

xaimaster

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
Indonesia
I use autoRCM on my Switch. I put sleep most of the time since powering off from switch doesn't actually power off the device.

Its kinda easy to check your switch still on RCM or not. After you turn off Switch, press power for a few sec, it doesn't turn on that mean you still on RCM. Switch also feel warn when you turn off the device while having autoRCM and this can make your battery flat in the next day.

To turn off Switch completely, inject hekate 5.0.1 payload and choose power off.
 

Basketto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
550
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
563
Country
Australia
It does power off, using a pc their is no way to tell, but I assure you that if you insert a dongle, no payload is sent without powering it on first.
 

bird333

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
101
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
519
Country
United States
I dont think you're really in RCM. When you plug your switch into a PC it sends power through the USB cable and your switch automatically turns on. You dont have to hit the power button. And yes you obviously still have autoRCM enabled. Boot hekate, turn on autoRCM and then turn it off again.
Ok this makes sense and would explain the behavior I'm seeing. Thanks!
 

LyuboA

Unknown Entity
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
525
Trophies
0
XP
806
Country
Bulgaria
yes every time you connect your switch to PC or any usb will go to RCM thats why if you want to charge it while you have Auto RCM powered off you need to plug it then power off and yes HOS is Horizon OS and ot works great the way i told you i havnt used a jig in 1 month very convenient

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I use autoRCM on my Switch. I put sleep most of the time since powering off from switch doesn't actually power off the device.

Its kinda easy to check your switch still on RCM or not. After you turn off Switch, press power for a few sec, it doesn't turn on that mean you still on RCM. Switch also feel warn when you turn off the device while having autoRCM and this can make your battery flat in the next day.

To turn off Switch completely, inject hekate 5.0.1 payload and choose power off.

you can power off with Auto RCM from HOS too if you use Kosmos theres an option for that in Hekate

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Best way to tell if you are in RCM is to connect to PC then power off if after 20 sec RCM is NOT detected the Console is completely OFF
 
  • Like
Reactions: xaimaster

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,268
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,822
Country
Albania
I don't know about the hekate part, as i rarely use it but, with the latest atmosphere releases your switch should turn off just fine from HOS under the Power->Power Off menu.
Tried it myself, and when i launched a payload the switch had plenty of battery left in it which is a clear sign that it didn't drain the battery.
By the by, of course your switch will power on after plugged in to a computer, hence the autoRCM being turned on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

LyuboA

Unknown Entity
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
525
Trophies
0
XP
806
Country
Bulgaria
thats what i'm saying you can power off from HOS + Best way to tell you are completely off o
if not sure plug into PC and AFTER THAT POWER OFF the system if after 20sec PC dosnt detect RCM you are off dont power of and connect but connect and power off to check it cant be more simple then that
 

xaimaster

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
Indonesia
General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: the specs of the steam deck aren't really any better than any recent laptop with integrated graphics