HDTV no Component slots?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by rayjay, May 28, 2011.

May 28, 2011

HDTV no Component slots? by rayjay at 2:08 PM (2,102 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. rayjay
    OP

    Member rayjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey, I was wondering if anyone could help me out. I've got an LCD HDTV but for some stupid reason it doesn't have the Component video slots neccesary for 480p. Is there any converter that can be used to enable 480p or am I f***ed?
    My TV has got:
    USB slot
    VGA slot
    S-video slot
    PC audio slot
    HP slot
    Composite video slots
    HDMI slot (obviously)
     


  2. Hazard7

    Member Hazard7 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. rayjay
    OP

    Member rayjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting, but it looks like a bit of a hassle, what with it requiring a power source and I would have to constantly unplug and replug if I wanted to play on my PS3.
     
  4. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
  5. rayjay
    OP

    Member rayjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's fine and all but it's pointless if it's not even out yet.
     
  6. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    sorry , you are right
     
  7. Spongeroberto

    Member Spongeroberto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Bhutan
    You could go for a wii2hdmi adapter. Video quality is the same as with component cables. Those adapters go for 30-35 euros on ebay.
     
  8. rayjay
    OP

    Member rayjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe. Out of curiousity, what is the difference between 480i and 480p?
     
  9. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,539
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  10. rayjay
    OP

    Member rayjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, I meant what are the visual differences when playing games.
     
  11. Spongeroberto

    Member Spongeroberto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Bhutan
    normally, 480p looks better than 480i

    But things can vary. For example, I have an expensive television with great deinterlacing capabilities. For most devices I actually get better image quality when I use an interlaced signal because after deinterlacing by my television the image looks better than if I had used a progressive signal from the start.

    Most likely 480p will be better though.
     
  12. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It is out now though.
     
  13. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
  14. luminalace

    Member luminalace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    Australia
    That actually looks really handy! I may get one just to have the HDMI option!
     
  15. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    that's what it's used for with this i can all all my devices including wii through my amp on 1 hdmi input. no need to change inputs to component and back [​IMG]
     
  16. rayjay
    OP

    Member rayjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried that and it somehow made it look worse, all it did was make the colours brighter and added even more jaggies. Although, it may have had to do with my TV, I'm not sure.
     
  17. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    must be [​IMG]
     
  18. qlum

    Member qlum Posting when needed

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    The Pirate Homeworld
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could try a converter to vga as these are passive they will be a lot cheaper in general, though you also need to convert convert the audio into a 3.5 mm jack those converters are also quite inexpensive.
     
  19. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    the wii uses component not vga
     
  20. rayjay
    OP

    Member rayjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One last question, does switching to 480p decrease the number of jaggies? and if so, is it noticible?
     

Share This Page