HBC upside down

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by acesniper, Oct 7, 2009.

Oct 7, 2009

HBC upside down by acesniper at 10:44 PM (3,150 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    I've read all the treads about the HBC being upside down, but my problem is a little different. I know that installing an untouched IOS36 will cure the problem, but this is where my dilemma begins. I need to have the "cIOS36 rev14 DIP" from CIOSCORP in order to run Mario Kart. However, installing "cIOS36 rev14 DIP" will cause the HBC to flip upside down. I know that some people have the HBC use IOS 60/61 and now my question is, Is there and way for the HBC to use IOS 60/61 instead of IOS 36?
     
  2. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    You don't NEED to have a dipped IOS36 to run Mario Kart. You just NEED IOS249.
     
  3. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to run Mario Kart Wii off the Disc Channel. And I already have IOS249 installed.
     
  4. wiistarter

    Member wiistarter GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then just install an unmodded IOS 61 and let HBC run from that
     
  5. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    How would you do that?
     
  6. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Install HBC 1.06.

    Done.
     
  7. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    I have HBC 1.0.6 installed.
     
  8. duy64

    Member duy64 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    NUS Downloader and make a wad then install the wad via wad manager.
     
  9. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Be sure to check which IOS the HBC is installed under. Press "HOME" while in the HBC and it'll come up in the top right corner. Once you know which IOS it is, install that untouch IOS.

    BTW, cIOS with different revisions uses different IOSes. cIOS rev3 is 37, cIOS rev8 is 36 and cIOS rev14 is 38 (as examples). When these are installed they are all installed as IOS249.

    And, what? The HBC is up to 1.0.6 already??

    Okay...
     
  10. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I checked that HBC 1.0.6 uses IOS 36. Mario Kart Wii also uses IOS 36, but I installed a patched version of IOS 36 from CIOSCORP inorder to make it boot from the Disc Channel. This makes the HBC flip.

    But, I know that some people have their HBC use IOS 61. How can I make my HBC use IOS 61 so I can boot Mario Kart Wii from the Disc Channel and have a normal HBC?
     
  11. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I just installed HBC 1.06 and its on IOS61 from what I understand.
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    for some people its IOS36 and for other IOS61,

    idk i think it has to do with the firmware. what are you on?
     
  13. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on 4.1U.

    I'll try uninstalling the HBC and reinstalling it using Hackmii Installer v0.6. That won't mess anything up right?
     
  14. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I installed it using Hackmii .6, I'm on Firmware 4.2U with IOS249 cIOS38 rev14 and trucha and ES identified IOS60 and 70, using preloader with many hacks autoboot to system menu on IOS70 (.29, not JODI patched).
     
  15. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    i have a wii 4.1 and another on 4.2 and they both have hbc running off IOS61.

    i wonder what causes some hbc's to still off IOS36
     
  16. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,526
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    'round and 'round the same conversations go,
    where's the SEARCH? Newbies don't know!!!! [​IMG]


    The installer looks around for the best exploit to use to install stuff. The best one out there (in the eyes of the DEVs, who know a lot more than I do) for the HBC is in IOS61 so it looks there FIRST. If the installer doesn't recognize the IOS or the wrong information is at a certain offset in the file (because of a trucha patch or any mod) then it will continue looking for the next exploit in it's list. IOS36 seems to be next in line for homebrew channel, while an original (THE original) IOS30 seems to be favored by the hackmii installer as a whole.

    Long story short (as told over and over again): Install the old IOS30 (press "-" in DoP-IOS) and the hackmii installer will not yell at you for having no vulnerable IOSs. Install IOS61 without any patch, then uninstalling and reinstalling HBC will cause HBC to use IOS61 AND not be upside down.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    I think that urherenow's suggestion is correct. I've just got to tinker with the settings to get CIOSCORP and HBC to work properly. Thanks.
     
  18. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    ahaha this is the only thread without a newbie posting in it, but thanks for droppin the knowledge.
     

Share This Page