HBC no longer reads SDHC cards

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DGenerateKane, Jul 18, 2009.

Jul 18, 2009
  1. DGenerateKane
    OP

    Member DGenerateKane GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    So I bought a Kingston 16 gb SDHC card only to find out the wii doesn't apparently support it. So I bought a 8 gb Transcend SDHC card. Whle waiting for the new card to arrive I was still using the Kingston for homebrew, when it stopped reading the card. I was transferring some files to it via FTPII and when I went back to the HBC none of my apps were listed. So I say screw it and start using the Transcend once it arrived. But now HBC won't read it either. I popped the card into my PC so I could reorganize a bunch of files easily and when I put it back in the Wii all my apps are not listed. Any ideas? I would really like to use one card, I don't want to have to buy several regular SD cards and spread all the files between them. :/
     
  2. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    Check the SD card compatibility list. Seems none of the Kingston 16GB cards are compatible. I found that the A-Data 16GB card was compatible with the HBC, ordered one (like $30) and it works just fine. Still, there are certain apps that are not compatible with SDHC regardless, but the majority of the good programs and emulators work just fine with it.
     
  3. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a transcend 16gb sdch class 6 and it is read fine in both bootmii and hbc

    same with my 1gb no name regular sd

    guess im just lucky [​IMG]
     
  4. DGenerateKane
    OP

    Member DGenerateKane GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I checked the list after I ordered the Kingston and saw it wasn't supported but it did work a dozen times or so. However the Transcend is listed as compatible so I don't know what is wrong.
     
  5. Red Ire Lap

    Newcomer Red Ire Lap Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada
    Try getting the panasonic SD/SDHC formatter from their site. Gotting being read on my wii and by the HBC on my 8GB card when it didnt work before.
     
  6. OncleJulien

    Member OncleJulien tool of peers

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    i have that same card, and have the same results...it was so hit or miss that i just stopped using it. some days loaders would work, apps would work, some days they wouldn't, i rolled back to the 4bg non -sdhc card rock banders get from newegg.
     
  7. tweak201

    Newcomer tweak201 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    try compressed air in the SD slot. My sd icon kept going gray until I tried it out. Worked like a charm
     
  8. DGenerateKane
    OP

    Member DGenerateKane GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, Kingston still fails to read. I got the Transcend to work though, when I plugged it into my PC (running Windows 7) a prompt popped up saying it might be damaged and did I want to scan it. While there were no errors found, when I next tried it in my Wii HBC could read it.

    zektor, which card do you have? Amazon has two listed, http://www.amazon.com/DATA-Secure-Digital-...9102&sr=8-1 and http://www.amazon.com/16GB-DATA-Turbo-Spee...9102&sr=8-2

    I think I'm going to need the space. Does the Wii let you use it? I'm out of space on my Wii for all the WADs I want and the Wii won't let me use the Transcend. :/
     

Share This Page